The Dragons Of Heaven
20%
off

The Dragons Of Heaven

3.49 (310 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 10 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Street magician Missy Masters inherited more than the usual genetic cocktail from her estranged grandfather. She also got his preternatural control of shadow and his legacy as the vigilante hero, Mr Mystic. Problem is, being a pulp hero takes more than a good fedora and a knack for witty banter, and Missy lacks the one thing Mr Mystic had: experience. Determined to live up to her birthright, Missy journeys to China to seek the aid of Lung Huang, the ancient master who once guided her grandfather.
Lung Huang isn't quite as ancient as Missy expected, and a romantic interlude embroils her in the politics of Lung Huang and his siblings, the nine dragon-guardians of creation. When Lung Di-Lung Huang's brother and mortal enemy-raises a magical barrier that cuts off China from the rest of the world, it falls to the new Mr. Mystic to prove herself by taking down the barrier.
As Missy prepares to confront Lung Di, she faces a tough decision: remain loyal to Lung Huang and see China destroyed, or side with the bad guy and save the world. File Under Fantasy [ Sins of the Grandfather / Missy and Master / Geek Fu / Little Trouble in Big China ]
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 104.14 x 175.26 x 27.94mm | 181.44g
  • Angry Robot
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0857664336
  • 9780857664334
  • 1,377,337

Review quote

"All the fun of pulp adventure, filtered through a twenty-first century lens. Helms isn't content simply to play in the genre; she questions it, complicates it, adds layers it didn't have eighty years ago. Missy's journey to become Mr. Mystic isn't the usual heroic training montage - but it's a hell of a lot of fun."
- Marie Brennan, author of A Natural History of Dragons

"In her first novel The Dragons of Heaven, Alyc Helms explores various San Franciscos (the city as it is, was, and looks to passing tourists), as well as the creatures different cultures and their myths collectively call "dragons," with an emphasis on the Chinese version. Helms keeps this complicated mix of genres, worlds, and eras (modern, historic, mythic) in balance and in motion throughout the book, leaving me eager for more."
- Farren Miller, Locus Magazine "The Dragons of Heaven combines superheroes, romance, ancient mythological China, and does it right. The world-building is stunning, and Missy's challenges feel incredibly real as do her reactions to amazing worlds she's put in. In fighting against the machinations of overly honorable yet incredibly nefarious ancient dragons, its clear she's the best chance humanity's got."
- Cassie Alexander, author of the Edie Spence series

"The Dragons of Heaven is a fun read. It is a genre blend that combines urban fantasy with folkloric myth, the superhero comic, romance, and the complex family dynamics featured in 'mainstream' fiction. There is magical action driving the plot aplenty, there are moments of humor and pop culture reference. But there are also great doses of introspection, of character development for Missy, and deep themes at its core."
- Skiffy & Fanty

"If you are looking for a fresh urban fantasy with superheroes, Chinese folklore, realistic heroine and a great story, then you must try it out!"
- Bookworm Dreams

"The Dragons of Heaven straddles the divisions between mythology, pulp adventure, superhero comic, and bathetic tragedy. The Dragons of Heaven is fun. It's a mashup of epic genres. It's an action-packed romance spanning decades and continents. Recommended for fans of Jack Burton, Astro City, and Tea from an Empty Cup."
- The Dinglehopper

"A fun debut novel that mashes up Chinese folklore, urban fantasy, comic book heroes and martial arts adventure in a lively package."
- Wyrmflight

"If you want a book that is fun, funny, action-packed, thrilling, a bit romantic and sexy, joyful, whip-smart, and a good romp, The Dragons of Heaven really should be up your street."
- Bastian's Book Reviews

"A nice spin on the superhero novel genre and a rather delightful reading experience as well."
- The Geeky Guide to Nearly Everything
show more

About Alyc Helms

Alyc Helms did her graduate work in anthropology and folklore, which makes her useless for just about anything except writing. She lives and writes in a dilapidated beach bungalow outside of San Francisco, near a horse trail, a troll bridge, and a raptor preserve (hopefully, the veloci- variety). THE DRAGONS OF HEAVEN is her debut novel.
show more

Rating details

310 ratings
3.49 out of 5 stars
5 17% (53)
4 37% (114)
3 29% (90)
2 13% (40)
1 4% (13)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X