The Dragon Society

The Dragon Society

3.95 (921 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$7.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

One Man Must Stand Against the Dragon Menace! It all began with "Dragon Weather" a wave of incredible heat, oppressive humidity, dark angry clouds . . . and dragons. Dragons with no remorse, no sympathy, no use for humans; dragons who destroyed an entire village and everyone in it. Everyone, that is, except the young boy, Arlian. Orphaned and alone, Arlian was captured by looters and sold as a mining slave. Years later he escaped, fueled by years of hatred for the dragons, bandits, and slavers that took away his youth--and a personal vow to exact retribution from those who have wronged him. Arlian seeks out The Dragon Society, whose sworn purpose is to stand against the dragon menace. What he learns there is shocking: that he may well be the best hope humanity will ever have for defeating the dragons . . . permanently.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 468 pages
  • 148.6 x 214.1 x 18.5mm | 358.34g
  • St Martin's Press
  • Tor Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reissue
  • 0765340542
  • 9780765340542
  • 1,564,360

Review quote

"The Best Fantasy Novel of the Year!"--"Science Fiction Chronicle" "[With] plenty of intrigue and magic, this book is sure to satisfy the author's many fans, as well as lovers of epic fantasy in the tradition of L. E. Modesitt and Terry Goodkind."--"Publishers Weekly"
show more

About Lawrence Watt-Evans

Born and raised in Massachusetts, Lawrence Watt-Evans has been a full-time writer and editor for more than twenty years. The author of more than thirty novels, over one hundred short stories, and more than one hundred and fifty published articles, Watt-Evans writes primarily in the fields of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and comic books. His short fiction has won the Hugo Award as well as twice winning the Asimov's Readers Award. His fiction has been published in England, Germany, Italy, Japan, Spain, Poland, France, Hungary, and RussiaHe served as president of the Horror Writers Association from 1994 to 1996 and after leaving that office was the recipient of HWA's first service award ever. He is also a member of Novelists Inc., and the Science Fiction Writers of America. Married with two children, he and his wife Julie live in Maryland.
show more

Rating details

921 ratings
3.95 out of 5 stars
5 30% (279)
4 41% (380)
3 23% (210)
2 4% (41)
1 1% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X