Dove Exiled
36%
off

Dove Exiled

3.72 (120 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Phaet Theta fled the Moon and has been hiding on Earth with her friend Wes and his family. But Phaet's past catches up with her when the Lunar Bases attack the community and reveal that Phaet is a fugitive. She's torn between staying on Earth with Wes-whom she's just discovered her feelings for-and stowing away on a Moon-bound ship to rescue her siblings from the wrath of the government who killed their mother. But when Phaet makes the agonizing decision to return to the Moon, she finds the rebel movement there has turned her into their "Girl Sage," a symbol of their struggle. She's the biggest celebrity on the Moon: half the people worship her, and the other half want her dead.show more

Product details

  • 12+
  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 20mm | 365g
  • Viking Books for Young Readers
  • United States
  • English
  • 0425287734
  • 9780425287736
  • 800,777

Review Text

Reviews for Dove Exiled :§§"Phaet is an engaging character, with whom the readers should readily identify."- VOYA§§Raves for the Dove Chronicles:§§"Karen Bao is an incredibly talented young writer. Beautiful prose and one of the most interesting main characters I've read. Dove Arising marks the debut of a promising new talent. I loved the story, and I can't wait to read more!" - Christopher Paolini , New York Times bestselling author of Eragon§§"Newcomer Bao's off-world setting and world-building details are intriguing."- Publishers Weekly§§"Characters are well developed, especially strong-willed Phaet, and an even pace will keep teens turning pages. Fans of Orson Scott Card's Ender's Game , Veronica Roth's Divergent and Marie Lu's Legend should flock to this well-written debut effort by 19-year-old Bao." -School Library Journal§§"Until just recently, the number of formidable young adult authors who got published before they were out of their teens was extremely small: Christopher Paolini and Isamu Fukui. Well, it is time to make room for a third name in this elite list: Karen Bao." - VOYA§§"The 20-year-old Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction." -Bustle.com§§"Phaet is a compelling, 'do what needs doing' kind of girl, and her desperation to succeed and secure her family's future is palpable...Revelations at the end pave the way for a sequel."-Booklist.com§§"Fans of The 5th Wave, Divergent, and Legend will love this smart, futuristic thriller." - Justine§§From the Hardcover edition.show more

About Karen Bao

Karen Bao is a writer, musician, and aspiring ecologist. She’s three years older than her brother and sixty years younger than her violin. Born in California and raised in New Jersey, she currently studies environmental biology at college in New York City. Karen began writing Dove Arising at the age of seventeen. Dove Exiled is her second novel. Visit her at karenbaobooks.com. From the Hardcover edition.show more

Review quote

Reviews for Dove Exiled: “Phaet is an engaging character, with whom the readers should readily identify.”—VOYA Raves for the Dove Chronicles: “Karen Bao is an incredibly talented young writer. Beautiful prose and one of the most interesting main characters I've read. Dove Arising marks the debut of a promising new talent. I loved the story, and I can't wait to read more!” —Christopher Paolini, New York Times bestselling author of Eragon “Newcomer Bao’s off-world setting and world-building details are intriguing.”—Publishers Weekly   "Characters are well developed, especially strong-willed Phaet, and an even pace will keep teens turning pages. Fans of Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Marie Lu’s Legend should flock to this well-written debut effort by 19-year-old Bao." —School Library Journal "Until just recently, the number of formidable young adult authors who got published before they were out of their teens was extremely small: Christopher Paolini and Isamu Fukui. Well, it is time to make room for a third name in this elite list: Karen Bao." —VOYA “The 20-year-old Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction.” —Bustle.com   “Phaet is a compelling, ‘do what needs doing’ kind of girl, and her desperation to succeed and secure her family’s future is palpable…Revelations at the end pave the way for a sequel.”—Booklist.com   “Fans of The 5th Wave, Divergent, and Legend will love this smart, futuristic thriller.” —Justine From the Hardcover edition.show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X