Dove Descending

Dove Descending : A Journey Into T.S. Eliot's Four Quartets

4.25 (63 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


T.S. Eliot is widely considered the most important and most influential poet of the 20th century. Many consider Four Quartets to be the finest of his poems and his greatest achievement. In this masterful journey into the beauties and depths of Eliot's masterpiece, the bestselling author, professor and critic Thomas Howard unravels the complexities of the sublime poem with such adept adroitness that even its most difficult passages spring to life. During his long years as a professor teaching English and Literature, Howard taught this poem often, and developed what he calls "a reading" approach to the concepts of this masterpiee to render its meaning more lucid for the reader. Therefore, this is not a "scholarly" work, but rather the brilliant insights of a master teacher and writer whose understanding of this profound poem and his deep love for the writing of Eliot are shared here for the great benefit of the reader.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 148 pages
  • 132.1 x 200.7 x 15.2mm | 181.44g
  • San Francisco, United States
  • English
  • New
  • 1586170406
  • 9781586170400
  • 50,748

Review quote

"In my own view, this sequence of four poems represents the pinnacle of Eiot's whole work. Four Quartets stands as Eliot's valedictory to the modern world. I would place it, along with Chartres Cathedral, the Divine Comedy, van Eyck's "Adoration of the Mystic Lamb" and Mozart's Requiem as a major edifice in the history of the Christian West."
show more

Rating details

63 ratings
4.25 out of 5 stars
5 40% (25)
4 46% (29)
3 14% (9)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X