Double Reverse

Double Reverse

3.7 (53 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 5 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Calling all football fans! An action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen - perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

"This tale of confident persistence will ring true for all the kids who have been told they're too small or too female.... An apt choice to surprise a young football fan with the power of words." ―Kirkus Reviews

Do you have to be the "perfect" type to be a great football player?

Jesse is experienced as a wide receiver―but can he play against type and help his new football team as a quarterback?

The Franklin High Panthers need a new quarterback. Freshman Jesse Wagner knows the plays, but he feels he is too small to be QB material. Jesse's brother Jay has a problem of his own: his college coach wants him to switch from quarterback to safety. The brothers agree on a deal: Jesse will try out for quarterback, and Jay will try playing safety. Meanwhile, Jesse and his teammates recruit an unlikely kicker for their team―a girl named Savannah who is a goalie from the girls' soccer team.

In the afterword, Bowen provides real stories of successful professional athletes, like Pro Football Hall of Famer Fran Tarkenton, who did not "look the part."

Discussion Guide available.
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Hardback | 125 pages
  • 136 x 201 x 15mm | 268g
  • Atlanta, United States
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 1561458147
  • 9781561458141

Review quote

"Filled with descriptions of the games, practices, and plays, the quick plot and likable characters will appeal to football fans.... [A] solid choice for struggling readers." ―Booklist Online
show more

Rating details

53 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 26% (14)
4 32% (17)
3 30% (16)
2 8% (4)
1 4% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X