Don't Call the Wolf

Don't Call the Wolf

3.64 (984 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$18.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black will devour this gorgeously imagined fantasy about a dark forest besieged by monsters--and the wild queen who has sworn to drive them out.

A fierce young queen, neither human nor lynx, who fights to protect a forest humans have long abandoned.

An exhausted young soldier, last of his name, who searches for the brother who disappeared beneath those trees without a trace.

A Golden Dragon, fearsome and vengeful, whose wingbeats haunt their nightmares and their steps.

When these three paths cross at the fringes of a war between monsters and men, shapeshifter queen and reluctant hero strike a deal that may finally turn the tide against the rising hordes of darkness. Ren will help Lukasz find his brother...if Lukasz promises to slay the Dragon.

But promises are all too easily broken.

This Eastern European fantasy debut, inspired by the Polish fairy tale The Glass Mountain, will take you on a twisting journey full of creeping tension, simmering romance, and haunting folklore--perfect for readers who loved An Enchantment of Ravens and The Hazel Wood.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 512 pages
  • 145 x 218 x 41mm | 544g
  • English
  • 0062877976
  • 9780062877970
  • 519,132

Review Text

"Immediately hooks the reader with its dark and twisted scenery. In a genre full of retellings, this book sets itself apart." School Library Journal
show more

Review quote

"Immediately hooks the reader with its dark and twisted scenery. In a genre full of retellings, this book sets itself apart."--School Library Journal
show more

About Aleksandra Ross

Ross, Aleksandra

Aleksandra Ross's earliest memories include sitting on the couch and listening to her grandmother read the Polish folktales of her childhood. She grew up in Vancouver, BC, and went to medical school at the University of Alberta. Don't Call the Wolf is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

984 ratings
3.64 out of 5 stars
5 22% (217)
4 36% (353)
3 29% (288)
2 10% (95)
1 3% (31)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X