The Doctor with an Eye for Eyes
19%
off

The Doctor with an Eye for Eyes : the Story of Dr. Patricia Bath

4.12 (32 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books for Kids 2017 Selection

If you like to think big, but some say you're too small,
or they say you're too young or too slow or too tall...

Meet Dr. Bath-the scientist who never lost sight of her dreams!

As a girl coming of age during the Civil Rights Movement, Patricia Bath made it her mission to become a doctor. When obstacles like racism, poverty, and sexism threatened this goal, she persevered-brightening the world with a game-changing treatment for blindness!

The Doctor with an Eye for Eyes: The Story of Dr. Patricia Bath is the second book in a brand new educational series about the inspirational lives of amazing scientists! In addition to the illustrated rhyming tale, you'll find a complete biography, fun facts, a colorful timeline of events, and even a note from Dr. Bath herself!
show more

Product details

  • Hardback
  • 254 x 254 x 15.24mm | 521.63g
  • The Innovation Press
  • WA, United States
  • English
  • 1943147310
  • 9781943147311
  • 38,871

Review quote

Praise for THE GIRL WHO THOUGHT IN PICTURES (Amazing Scientists series): "Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin's spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography....this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences."--School Library Journal "The author speaks directly and inclusively...this is an effective, age-appropriate introduction to a remarkable person."--Kirkus Reviews "I'm really digging this new picture book bio series, Amazing Scientists! Lower word count, rhyming text, and sweet illustrations make them accessible to even the youngest reader/listener. More importantly, they profile still living women scientists & doctors who persevered against the odds, pursued their passions, and became leaders in their fields."--Kathleen Carey, Bookseller at Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza Praise for Amazing Scientists series: "Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin's spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography....this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences."--School Library Journal "Think of this as a real-life Rosie Revere Engineer or Ada Twist Scientist! Refreshing to see a kids' picture book biography about someone I hadn't known previously."--Tegan Tigani, Children's Book Seller at Queen Anne Bookstore "Fans of Andrea Beaty's Rosie Revere, Engineer (2013), or anyone who has struggled over feeling different, will appreciate this approachable biography of a inspiring scientist."--Booklist A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books for Kids 2017 Selection Praise for THE GIRL WHO THOUGHT IN PICTURES (Amazing Scientists series): "Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin's spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography....this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences." --School Library Journal "Fans of Andrea Beaty's Rosie Revere, Engineer (2013), or anyone who has struggled over feeling different, will appreciate this approachable biography of a inspiring scientist." -- Booklist "The author speaks directly and inclusively...this is an effective, age-appropriate introduction to a remarkable person." -- Kirkus Reviews "I'm really digging this new picture book bio series, Amazing Scientists! Lower word count, rhyming text, and sweet illustrations make them accessible to even the youngest reader/listener. More importantly, they profile still living women scientists & doctors who persevered against the odds, pursued their passions, and became leaders in their fields." -- Kathleen Carey, Bookseller at Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza "Think of this as a real-life Rosie Revere Engineer or Ada Twist Scientist! Refreshing to see a kids' picture book biography about someone I hadn't known previously." -- Tegan Tigani, Children's Book Seller at Queen Anne Bookstore
show more

About Julia Finley Mosca

JULIA FINLEY MOSCA is a copywriter and former journalist who spent more than a decade in Hollywood crafting messages for money. After working with such recognizable brands as Entertainment Tonight, Yahoo!, American Greetings, and JibJab, she landed her most rewarding job yet--mom to one ferociously curious and spunky little girl. The Amazing Scientists series marks Mosca's debut into the magical world of children's books. DANIEL RIELEY is a British freelance illustrator based in Lisbon. After studying at The Arts Institute Bournemouth, taking an epic backpacking adventure in Australia, and working 3 years in London, he decided to take off to sunny Portugal. For the last 2 years, Daniel has been working on several illustration projects in advertising, print, card design, and children's picture books. When Daniel is not drawing you can probably find him trying to catch waves, taking photos with old cameras, or playing his newly discovered sport Padel.
show more

Rating details

32 ratings
4.12 out of 5 stars
5 34% (11)
4 47% (15)
3 16% (5)
2 3% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X