Dividing Eden

Dividing Eden

3.66 (4,673 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$12.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Testing trilogy comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas. Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the throne, the future of the kingdom was secure. But appearances-and rivals-can be deceiving. When Eden's king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option-to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of ruling the kingdom. As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe-from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains beyond the kingdom's wall. But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family. With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown. How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to the ultimate betrayal?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 21mm | 351g
  • HarperTeen
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • International ed.
  • 0062673335
  • 9780062673336
  • 169,139

Back cover copy

Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the crown, the future of the kingdom was secure.

But appearances and rivals for the throne can be deceiving. When Eden s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of the crown.

As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains. But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family. How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to betrayal?

With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown.

"
show more

Review Text

"Charbonneau's skill as a thriller writer will hook readers as the tension between the siblings grows and the Trial of Succession rushes towards an explosive end... This new fantasy will give them plenty to sink their teeth into." Booklist
show more

Review quote

"Charbonneau's skill as a thriller writer will hook readers as the tension between the siblings grows and the Trial of Succession rushes towards an explosive end... This new fantasy will give them plenty to sink their teeth into." -- Booklist "The trendy plot-filled with royal intrigue, romance, and a dangerous competition-is sure to make this new fantasy series a popular choice... Hand this one to fans of Sarah J. Maas, Kiera Cass, and Evelyn Skye." -- School Library Journal "The siblings are complex characters, weighted down by their respective heartaches and issues, and their skeptical views on the world feel realistic... there's a lot to like about this messed up, lush, and dark world." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books PRAISE FOR JOELLE CHARBONNEAU: "The rising tension, skillfully executed scenarios, and rich characterizations all contribute to an exciting story bound to capture readers' imaginations... Charbonneau works action, romance, intrigue, and a plausible dystopian premise into a near-flawless narrative." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Fast-paced and full of crosses and double-crosses, right to the cliffhanger ending." -- Booklist "Charbonneau has created an elegantly organized plot... The tension and conflict will have readers at the edge of their seats as the imagery and complexities of the characters and plot design are exposed." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) "Charbonneau delivers a tightly paced thriller packed with enough tension to keep teens hooked until the dramatic finale." -- School Library Journal "Joelle Charbonneau made test-taking terrifying in her best-selling trilogy, The Testing. Now, she turns her dystopian eye towards social networks and teens' wishes in Need." -- EW.com "A fast-paced read that teens antsy to untangle the mystery will devour...hand to teens looking for a thought-provoking, timely thriller." -- Booklist
show more

About Joelle Charbonneau

Joelle Charbonneau has performed in opera and musical theater productions across Chicagoland. She is the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Testing trilogy as well as two adult mystery series. Her YA books have appeared on the Indie Next List, the YALSA Top Ten Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers list, and state reading lists across the country. Her standalone YA thriller Need has been optioned for a feature film and is currently in development.
show more

Rating details

4,673 ratings
3.66 out of 5 stars
5 21% (966)
4 40% (1,859)
3 28% (1,316)
2 9% (399)
1 3% (133)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X