A Distant Land
29%
off

A Distant Land

4.1 (49 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from Australia in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The enchanting Jingera trilogy concludes with a heart-rending story of love and the callous twists of fate. Back in 1957, nine-year-old Zidra Vincent met Jim Cadwallader for the first time. Fourteen years later, their bond of friendship - forged during a childhood in the beautiful coastal town of Jingera - is still strong. But is friendship all they dream of? Jim is now a respected war correspondent in Cambodia, though he has plans to come home for good. Because there is something very important he wants to say to Zidra. Zidra, meanwhile, is an ambitious reporter at the Sydney Morning Chronicle, and the seeds of a major story have just landed in her lap. Life is looking good, if only she could share it with the man who knows her best. Then, while at work in the newsroom one morning, Zidra catches sight of a wire-service bulletin. A story out of Cambodia. The body of a Western journalist has been discovered near Phnom Penh. And her world collapses around her ...
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 152 x 236 x 30mm | 358.34g
  • Bantam
  • Milsons Piont, Australia
  • English
  • 1864711949
  • 9781864711943
  • 331,024

Review quote

The final part of Alison Booth's charming trilogy, but can be read as a standalone novel. Ideal for reading groups. A captivating love story that makes a wonderful summer read. Will appeal to fans of Kate Morton and Belinda Alexandra. Publishes simultaneously with the B format edition of THE INDIGO SKY.
show more

About Alison Booth

Alison Booth was born in Victoria and grew up in Sydney. After over two decades living in the UK, she returned to Australia in 2002 and is now a professor of economics at the Australian National University. She is married with two daughters. She is the author of three novels- Stillwater Creek, The Indigo Sky and A Distant Land, all set in the fictional town of Jingera.
show more

Rating details

49 ratings
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 35% (17)
4 45% (22)
3 16% (8)
2 4% (2)
1 0% (0)

Our customer reviews

A fast-paced, moving and beautifully-written read. Great plot, characterization, and background in a captivating story of romance, intrigue and adventure. The novel is set in the early 1970s and follows three main characters, all from the village of Jingera on the south coast of New South Wales. In Sydney, Zidra and Lorna get involved with moratorium marches and ASIO, while Jim, a war correspondent in Cambodia, experiences some unexpected action. The characters each face moral challenges in a beautifully written story with a satisfying Jingera-based conclusion.show more
by James999
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X