The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree
25%
off

The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree

4.05 (510 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'A simply told, bitter-sweet story, with a powerful poetic message' - Jacqueline Wilson

Nominated for the CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019. A novel for all ages about a young girl losing her sight, inspired by the author's own life story. For fans of Wonder, The Little Prince and The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly

Mafalda is a nine-year-old girl who knows one thing: some time in the next six months her sight will fail completely.

Can Mafalda find a way through a seemingly dark future and still go to school, play football and look after her beloved cat? With the help of her family, and her friends, Mafalda needs to discover the things that will be important to her when her sight has failed.

A moving, empowering tale of courage and determination that will inspire young and old.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 208 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 15mm | 197g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1471407551
  • 9781471407550
  • 49,377

Review Text

A simply told, bitter-sweet story, with a powerful poetic message Jacqueline Wilson
show more

Review quote

A simply told, bitter-sweet story, with a powerful poetic message -- Jacqueline Wilson This beautiful book is a must-read for any family that has recently received a diagnosis of sight loss. It's a modern-day fable that will help adults and children, friends and family understand and come to terms with life-changing health issues -- Red Szell * Connect Radio * Must Read * Saturday Express Magazine * A captivating, wise and highly visual children's novel * Observer Magazine * No matter what age, readers are bound to tear up at this beautifully written novel... Whether you are looking for a book to read together, something to recommend to a child, or a short novel that offers a unique perspective, Mafalda's story will stay with you long after you have finished reading it * Happiful Magazine * Tender and thought-provoking, with a powerful but unforced message * Book Trust * This little gem of book is for everyone - children and adults. It's a beautiful and inspiring story of overcoming fear and adversity. -- Sinead Moriarty This lyrically written, moving book makes you think about what is truly important. A little gem * Irish Independent * A beautifully written, poignant tale of a little girl's courageous struggle * Inis Reading Guide * A mystical, semi-autobiographical novel about a girl who is going blind. Well developed characters, including the boy who becomes her friend. Poignant, moving * Read for Empathy Guide *
show more

About Paola Peretti

Paola Peretti (Author)
Paola Peretti is Italian and was born in the province of Verona, where she still lives today. She studied literature and philosophy and graduated in publishing and journalism in 2011 with a thesis on gender discrimination in literature. Between 2015 and 2016 she attended the Palomar School of creative writing in Rovigo. During and after her studies she worked as a waitress, bartender, baby sitter and teacher, while writing articles for the local newspaper.

Fifteen years ago, she discovered that she was affected by a rare genetic illness called Stargadt Disease which causes progressive vision loss, and eventually blindness. There is no cure to date.

She is currently teaching Italian to immigrant children from Senegal, Nigeria, China, Romania, India, Pakistan, Brazil, Moldova and Russia.

The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree is her first novel.

Denise Muir (Translator)
Denise Muir has been translating from Italian to English since1998 and in 2014 published her first short story translation. Sincethen she has published picture and educational books with Italianpublishers, championed Italian children's novels and publisheda YA novel with Barrington Stoke's Bucket List. Denise writes ablog about inclusive children's books, works with local librariesto promote reading in the community, performs as a storytellerin Italian and English, and collaborates with the Italian Children'sWriters Association, Outside In World, small Italian independentpresses and a literary agency publishing strong voices for youngreaders.Denise divides her time between Edinburgh and Abruzzo, Italy.
show more

Rating details

510 ratings
4.05 out of 5 stars
5 35% (179)
4 39% (199)
3 22% (114)
2 3% (15)
1 1% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X