Different Class
12%
off

Different Class

3.84 (1,793 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The gripping new psychological thriller from Joanne Harris, to follow her bestselling Gentlemen & Players and Blueeyedboy. Perfect for fans of Claire Mackintosh, BA Paris. Paula Hawkins and Tracy Chevalier. After thirty years at St Oswald's Grammar in North Yorkshire, Latin master Roy Straitley has seen all kinds of boys come and go. Each class has its clowns, its rebels, its underdogs, its 'Brodie' boys who, whilst of course he doesn't have favourites, hold a special place in an old teacher's heart. But every so often there's a boy who doesn't fit the mould. A troublemaker. A boy with hidden shadows inside. With insolvency and academic failure looming, a new broom has arrived at the venerable school, bringing Powerpoint, sharp suits and even sixth form girls to the dusty corridors. But while Straitley does his sardonic best to resist this march to the future, a shadow from his past is stirring. A boy who even twenty years on haunts his teacher's dreams. A boy capable of bad things. "A masterpiece of misdirection". (Val McDermid). "Compellingly suspenseful...both a splendidly dark comedy and a disturbing thriller". (Ramsey Campbell). "Terrific twists pile up at a highly satisfying rate...you'll be hooked". (James Walton, Reader's Digest). What the critics said about Joanne Harris' psychological thrillers: "A terrific and absorbing suspense novel...twists and turns to keep you on your toes". (Peter Robinson). "Gripping psychological thriller...one of our most accomplished novelists...pace, wit and acute observation...at the top of her form". (Daily Express). "The plot is so cleverly constructed, the tension so unflagging, you'd think she'd been writing thrillers all her life". (Daily Mail). "[A] clever story of obsession and revenge". (Sunday Telegraph).show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 153 x 231 x 31mm | 528g
  • Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • DOUBLEDAY
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0385619243
  • 9780385619240
  • 62,935

About Joanne Harris

Joanne Harris is one of our best-loved and most versatile novelists. She first appeared on the scene with the bestselling Chocolat (made into an Oscar-nominated film with Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp), which turned into the sensuous Lansquenet trilogy (with Lollipop Shoes and Peaches for Monsieur le Cure). She has since written acclaimed novels in such diverse genres as fantasy based on Norse myth (Runemarks, Runelight, The Gospel of Loki), and the Malbry cycle of dark psychological thrillers (Gentlemen & Players, Blueeyedboy, and now Different Class). Born in Barnsley, of an English father and a French mother, she spent fifteen years as a teacher before (somewhat reluctantly) becoming a full-time writer. In 2013, she was awarded an MBE. She lives in Yorkshire, plays bass in a band first formed when she was sixteen, works in a shed in her garden, spends far too much time online and occasionally dreams of faking her own death and going to live in Hawaii.show more

Review quote

"A magnificently plotted and twisty journey to the heart of a 24-year-old crime...darkly humorous...constantly wrongfoots and misdirects...up to a satisfyingly eccentric conclusion." Observer "Slowly, Harris reveals tiny clues, withholding full explanations until the startling denouement. Classy writing, sensitive and moving." The Times "Harris pulls off an impeccable thriller denouement...consistently entertaining." -- John Dugdale Sunday Times "It's Goodbye, Mr Chips meets The Bad Seed. Joanne Harris' latest has a killer elevator pitch and, what's more, it delivers on its intriguing premise...a rich, dramatic tale that builds to a surprising conclusion." Washington Post "A masterpiece of misdirection." -- Val McDermidshow more

Review Text

"A magnificently plotted and twisty journey to the heart of a 24-year-old crime...darkly humorous...constantly wrongfoots and misdirects...up to a satisfyingly eccentric conclusion." Observershow more

Rating details

1,793 ratings
3.84 out of 5 stars
5 27% (477)
4 43% (765)
3 22% (397)
2 6% (112)
1 2% (42)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X