The Diary of Thomas Turner, 1754-1765

The Diary of Thomas Turner, 1754-1765

3.87 (8 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Volume editor 

List price: US$11.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

In the tradition of Pepys, Evelyn and Woodforde, thomas Turner 1729-1793 spent eleven years of his life recording the detailed minutiae of everyday village life in preindustrial England. A hardworking shopkeeper, he occupied a key position in East Hoathly, Sussex where he also served as undertaker, schoolmaster, and overseer to the poor. His massive journal--a third of which appears here--attests to his rightful place as an indispensable English diarist.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 420 pages
  • 132 x 192 x 30mm | 421.84g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Paperbacks
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • halftones, table
  • 0192818996
  • 9780192818997

Rating details

8 ratings
3.87 out of 5 stars
5 12% (1)
4 62% (5)
3 25% (2)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X