Diagraphics

Diagraphics

2.42 (7 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 11 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Diagraphics delivers the ultimate word on information graphics design. In the tradition of Edward Tufte's Envisioning Information, Stephen Few's Show Me the Numbers, and Kim Baer's Information Design Workbook, Chilean designer Macarena San Martin offers a definitive look at the cutting edge of clear, powerful design for bar graphs, line graphs, scatterplots, pie charts, area maps, and all manner of modern display graphs. San Martin's Diagraphics is an indispensable resource for twenty-first century datagraphics designers.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 256 pages
  • 248.92 x 297.18 x 25.4mm | 1,723.64g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • Harper Design International
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 200 Colour
  • 006197014X
  • 9780061970146
  • 723,548

Back cover copy

Organizing information, especially complex information, is not an easy task, and doing so for others as a communication tool for an eye-catching image, is even less so. This book is a collection of over 140 examples of maps, sketches and diagrams, and graphs that have achieved this feat. The designers who created the work showcased in the following pages are truly international, and while they may not speak the same language as one another, they communicate common messages and themes through design--information design. Their work exemplifies how a single concept can be reprensented in several different and original ways, without losing sight of design's main objective: to organize and communicate complex information in an easily accessible and engaging manner.
show more

About Macarena San Martin

Macarena San Martin studied design at the Catholic University of Chile, her birthplace. Before finishing her studies, she took part in a student exchange in Italy, where her experience and introduction to the world of design was an incentive for her to return to Europe and further her studies. Her destination this time was Barcelona, where she took a post-graduate course in Fashion Styling at BAU. She soon became involved in the world of publishing, thus combining all of her interests-design, fashion, and the written word.
show more

Rating details

7 ratings
2.42 out of 5 stars
5 0% (0)
4 14% (1)
3 43% (3)
2 14% (1)
1 29% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X