The Devil You Know

The Devil You Know

3.55 (3,257 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 6 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 11-14 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

From critically-acclaimed author Trish Doller comes a powerful new psychological page-turner perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and Sara Zarr. Eighteen-year-old Arcadia wants adventure. Living in a tiny Florida town with her dad and four-year-old brother, Cadie spends most of her time working, going to school, and taking care of her family. So when she meets two handsome cousins at a campfire party, she finally has a chance for fun. They invite her and friend to join them on a road trip, and it's just the risk she's been craving-the opportunity to escape. But what starts out as a fun, sexy journey quickly becomes dangerous when she discovers that one of them is not at all who he claims to be. One of them has deadly intentions. A road trip fling turns terrifying in this contemporary story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 256 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 22.86mm | 349g
  • Bloomsbury Childrens Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1619634163
  • 9781619634169
  • 662,473

Review quote

"The spark between Noah and Cadie is delicious, and the slow build of darkness throughout the story is the kind of terrifying that teens will enjoy. . . A must-buy for readers looking for a healthy dose of drama." --School Library Journal "This suspenseful contemporary tale delivers the believable adventure story of an eighteen-year-old who embarks on a rebellious quest and finds romance and danger." --VOYA "As the stakes increase and the opportunities for escape deep in the Everglades narrow, the Hitchcockian conclusion is swift and satisfying." --Booklist "Trish Doller writes strong, gutsy characters that you can't help caring for and Callie is no exception. Her journey is heartbreaking and powerful." --Melina Marchetta, Printz Award winner of JELLICOE ROAD, on WHERE THE STARS STILL SHINE "Give to fans of Lauren Myracle's Shine or Sara Zarr's How to Save a Life who are looking for a little more edge to the story." --VOYA on WHERE THE STARS STILL SHINE "Realistically portrayed, beautifully written, and never feels contrived." --Booklist on WHERE THE STARS STILL SHINE "Compelling. . . . Doller does a great job at showing how Callie has a foot in both of her worlds and her intense and volatile emotions." --Library Media Connection on WHERE THE STARS STILL SHINE "Amazing. You will smile and sob and when you finish, you will walk away a better you. READ THIS BOOK NOW." --Lauren Myracle, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author, on SOMETHING LIKE NORMAL "Doller debuts with a timely novel that carves new ground out of the saturated teen romance and post-war trauma genres." --Publishers Weekly on SOMETHING LIKE NORMAL
show more

About Trish Doller

Trish Doller is the author of Something Like Normal and Where the Stars Still Shine. She's a former newspaper reporter and radio personality who now works as a bookseller at the Ft Myers B&N. She lives in Fort Myers, Florida, with her two mostly grown children, two dogs, and a pirate. (For real.) www.trishdoller.com
@TrishDoller
show more

Rating details

3,257 ratings
3.55 out of 5 stars
5 23% (741)
4 31% (1,010)
3 30% (977)
2 12% (386)
1 4% (143)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X