The Devil in the Marshalsea
25%
off

The Devil in the Marshalsea

3.91 (1,950 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The first thrilling historical crime novel starring Thomas Hawkins, a rakish scoundel with a heart of gold, set in the darkest debtors prison in Georgian London, where people fall dead as quickly as they fall in love and no one is as they seem. London, 1727. Tom Hawkins refuses to follow in his father s footsteps and become a country parson. His preference is for wine, women, and cards. But there s honor there too, and Tom won t pull family strings to get himself out of debt not even when faced with London s notorious debtors prison. The Marshalsea Gaol is a world of its own, with simple rules: Those with family or friends who can lend them a little money may survive in relative comfort. Those with none will starve in squalor and disease. And those who try to escape will suffer a gruesome fate at the hands of its ruthless governor and his cronies. The trouble is, Tom has never been good at following rules, even simple ones. And the recent grisly murder of a debtor, Captain Roberts, has brought further terror to the gaol. While the captain's beautiful widow cries for justice, the finger of suspicion points only one way: do the sly, enigmatic figure of Samuel Fleet. Some call Fleet a devil, a man to avoid at all costs. But Tom Hawkins is sharing his cell. Soon Tom s choice is clear: get to the truth of the murder or be the next to die. A dazzling evocation of a startlingly modern era, "The Devil in the Marshalsea" is a thrilling debut novel full of intrigue and suspense."show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 143 x 209 x 32mm | 322g
  • Mariner Books
  • Boston, United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 0544176677
  • 9780544176676
  • 392,909

Review quote

"Hodgson...conjures up scenes of Dickensian squalor and marries them to a crackerjack plot, in her impressive first novel...Hodgson makes the stench, as well as the despair, almost palpable, besides expertly dropping fair clues. Fans of Iain Pears and Charles Palliser will hope for a sequel." "--Publishers Weekly "(STARRED REVIEW) "The plot develops almost as many intricate turns as there are passages in the Marshalsea...Hodgson's plotting is clever...the local color hair-raising." -"Kirkus Reviews" "Satisfyingly twisty debut thriller...so well detailed that one can almost smell the corruption, and the irrepressibly roguish Tom makes a winning hero." --"Booklist" "Historical fiction just doesn't get any better than this. A riveting, fast-paced story...Magnificent!" --Jeffery Deaver, author of the bestselling "The Kill Room and Edge" "Antonia Hodgson's London of 1727 offers that rare achievement in historical fiction: a time and place suspensefully different from our own, yet real. The Devil in the Marshalsea reminds us at every turn that we ourselves may not have evolved far from its world of debtors and creditors, crime and generosity, appetite and pathos. A damn'd good read." --Elizabeth Kostova, author of "The Historian and The Swan Thieves" "A wonderfully convincing picture of the seamier side of 18th-century life. The narrative whips along. Antonia Hodgson has a real feel for how people thought and spoke at the time--and, God knows, that's a rare talent." --Andrew Taylor, author of "An Unpardonable Crime and The Four Last Things"show more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X