Devil in the Darkness

Devil in the Darkness

3.48 (145 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Introduction by 
3.48 (145 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

En route to their honeymoon in the Scottish Highlands, Paul and Carol Wilson lose their way in an unseasonable blizzard and are forced to take shelter in remote Ardvreck House.

But this sprawling, dilapidated Victorian mansion, with its reputation as the scene of violent unsolved mysteries, is also playing host to an eclectic and mysterious group of people who are engaged in a bizarre experiment. It soon becomes clear that even more threatening than the worsening storm outside are the dangers within: The Wilsons and the rest of the assembled company may not survive their stay, as Ardvreck House, home to a century-old evil, refuses to give up its long-buried secret - the devil in the darkness.

Renowned professor of astronomy Archie Roy was also a prominent researcher in the field of the paranormal. Drawing heavily on his own experience and investigations, Devil in the Darkness (1978) is a chilling haunted house story in the tradition of Shirley Jackson's The Haunting of Hill House and Richard Matheson's Hell House. This new edition makes Roy's sixth novel available in America for the first time and includes a new introduction by Greg Gbur.

'Exciting thriller, as good as a Hammer movie, with supernatural doings in an evil mansion.' - Alastair Philips, Glasgow Herald
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 160 pages
  • 127 x 203 x 13mm | 299g
  • English
  • 1954321414
  • 9781954321410
  • 2,756,530

Rating details

145 ratings
3.48 out of 5 stars
5 14% (21)
4 38% (55)
3 32% (47)
2 11% (16)
1 4% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X