A Desolation Called Peace

A Desolation Called Peace

4.38 (11,573 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$20.50

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

Description

A Desolation Called Peace is the spectacular space opera sequel to A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine, winner of the 2020 Hugo Award for Best Novel.

An alien terror could spell our end.

An alien threat lurks on the edges of Teixcalaanli space. No one can communicate with it, no one can destroy it, and Fleet Captain Nine Hibiscus is supposed to win a war against it.

In a desperate attempt to find a diplomatic solution, the fleet captain has sent for an envoy to contact the mysterious invaders. Now Mahit Dzmare and Three Seagrass - both still reeling from the recent upheaval in the Empire - face an impossible task: they must attempt to negotiate with a hostile entity, without inadvertently triggering the destruction of themselves and the Empire.

Whether they succeed or fail could change the face of Teixcalaan forever.

'All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it' Ann Leckie on A Memory Called Empire

'A cutting, beautiful, human adventure . . . The best SF novel I've read in the last five years' Yoon Ha Lee on A Memory Called Empire
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 496 pages
  • 155 x 234 x 37mm | 590g
  • Tor
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Air Iri OME
  • 9781529001631
  • 82,069

Review Text

A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it Ann Leckie on A Memory Called Empire
show more

Review quote

A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it -- Ann Leckie on A Memory Called Empire A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity and intrigue. The best SF novel I've read in the last five years -- Yoon Ha Lee on A Memory Called Empire An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive -- Aliette de Bodard on A Memory Called Empire An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn't put it down -- Jo Walton on A Memory Called Empire An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks and Asimov -- Elizabeth Bear on A Memory Called Empire A cunningly plotted, richly imagined tale of interstellar intrigue that does something new with space opera -- Ken MacLeod on A Memory Called Empire
show more

About Arkady Martine

Arkady Martine is a speculative fiction writer and, as Dr AnnaLinden Weller, a historian of the Byzantine Empire and an apprentice city planner. Under both names she writes about border politics, rhetoric, propaganda and the edges of the world. Arkady grew up in New York City and, after some time in Turkey, Canada and Sweden, lives in Baltimore with her wife, the author Vivian Shaw. She is the author of the Teixcalaan duology, which begins with A Memory Called Empire.
show more

Rating details

11,573 ratings
4.38 out of 5 stars
5 52% (5,970)
4 37% (4,327)
3 9% (1,062)
2 1% (170)
1 0% (44)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X