Denver Moon

Denver Moon : The Minds of Mars (Book One)

3.83 (56 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Book One in the Denver Moon Series

Earth is dying. Luna is uninhabitable. Mars is our last chance.

Once considered humanity's future home, Mars hasn't worked out like anybody hoped. Plagued by crime and a terraforming project that's centuries from completion, Mars is a red hell.

Denver Moon, P.I., works the dark underbelly of Mars City. While investigating a series of violent crimes linked to red fever--a Martian disorder that turns its victims into bloodthirsty killers--Denver discovers a cryptic message left by Tatsuo Moon, Mars City co-founder and Denver's grandfather. The same grandfather who died two decades ago.

Twenty-year-old revelations force Denver on a quest for truth, but Tatsuo's former friend, Cole Hennessy, leader of the Church of Mars, has other plans and will stop at nothing to keep Denver from disclosing Tatsuo's secrets to the world.

Hell-bent on reclaiming her grandfather's legacy, Denver--along with her AI implant, Smith, companion android, Nigel, and shuttle pilot, Navya--set out on a quest to find the answers they hope will shed light on the church's true agenda, the origin of red fever, and the mysteries surrounding Tatsuo's tragic death.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 264 pages
  • 127 x 203 x 15mm | 290g
  • English
  • 4 Illustrations; Illustrations, black and white
  • 0999773666
  • 9780999773666
  • 912,844

Review quote

"This novella is recommended for all fans of speculative mysteries."
--PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

"Take the Mars of Total Recall, the cybertech of Ghost in the Shell, the noir of Blade Runner, the action of Cowboy Bebop, and accelerate them to twelve times Earth escape velocity, then you will find yourself with the pure awesome joy that is Denver Moon."
--Matthew Kressel, multiple Nebula Award and World Fantasy Award finalist

"Denver Moon: The Minds of Mars combines Blade Runner and the original Total Recall with a dash of old-school detective noir that is hard to put down and leaves the reader wanting more."
--IndieReader

"This is Mars done as well as Elton John did it, as well as John Carpenter did it, as well as Total Recall did it. Move over, Andy Weir. Step aside, John Carter. Denver Moon is swaggering into this red landscape, and her footprints in the dust, they're going to last a few generations, I'd say."
--Stephen Graham Jones, bestselling author of Mongrels and Mapping the Interior

"A searing mystery with a superlative, gun-toting protagonist."
--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Denver Moon: The Minds of Mars is noir sci-fi at its best. A powerful story that is hard to put down and highly recommended for mystery and sci-fi fans alike."
--D. Donovan, Sr. Reviewer, Midwest Book Review

"Crisp and compellingly told, Denver Moon is a high-tech, mystery-packed tale of our Mars-colonized tomorrow. Fans of Andy Weir and James S.A. Corey should take note."
--Jason Heller, Hugo-winning editor and author of Strange Stars

"A tense story of a well-imagined Mars where belief is more powerful than a gun."
--Richard Kadrey, bestselling author of Metrophage and the Sandman Slim series

"With a richly imagined and well-balanced mixture of Mickey Spillane and Philip K. Dick, the stories of Denver Moon deliver thought-provoking excitement, cunning twists, and deeply human characters (even the androids!). Put this on your must-read list."
--Carter Wilson, USA Today bestselling author
show more

Rating details

56 ratings
3.83 out of 5 stars
5 21% (12)
4 43% (24)
3 34% (19)
2 2% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X