Defiance
18%
off

Defiance

3.68 (24,014 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Defiance by C. J. Redwine is rich postapocalyptic YA fantasy perfect for fans of Graceling and Tamora Pierce. While the other girls in the walled city-state of Baalboden learn to sew and dance, Rachel Adams learns to track and hunt. While they bend like reeds to the will of their male Protectors, she uses hers for sparring practice. When Rachel's father fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the city's brutal Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector: her father's apprentice, Logan--the boy she declared her love to and who turned her down two years before. Left with nothing but fierce belief in her father's survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself. As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can't be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 408 pages
  • 134 x 200 x 28mm | 300g
  • Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0062117173
  • 9780062117175
  • 314,161

Review quote

Spellbinding, romantic, and impossible to put down. --Julie Kagawa, New York Times Bestselling author of the Iron Fey series and the Blood of Eden series"show more

Back cover copy

Rachel Adams has a secret. While other girls in Baalboden sew dresses and obey their male Protectors, Rachel knows how to survive in the wilderness and wield a sword. When her father, Jared, fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the city's brutal Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector, her father's apprentice, Logan--the boy Rachel declared her love for two years ago . . . and the one who handed her heart right back to her. Left with only a fierce belief in her father's survival, Rachel decides to find him herself. But what awaits her in the Wasteland could destroy her. Logan McEntire is many things. Orphan. Outcast. Inventor. Apprentice to the city's top courier, Logan is focused on learning his trade so he can escape the tyranny of Baalboden. But his plan never included being responsible for his mentor's impulsive daughter. Logan is determined to protect her, but when his escape plan goes wrong and Rachel pays the price, he realizes he has more at stake than disappointing Jared. As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can't be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.show more

Rating details

24,014 ratings
3.68 out of 5 stars
5 27% (6,501)
4 33% (7,861)
3 26% (6,328)
2 10% (2,332)
1 4% (992)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X