The Deepest Night

The Deepest Night

4.14 (942 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, "The Deepest Night "seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure--perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate. It's 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England's southern coast. While she's always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a "drakon, " a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities. As war hits Britain's shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort--and to keep Lora near--Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her--bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood. Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another "drakon, " a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him. With Armand at her side, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission--one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart. Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, "The Deepest Night" is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love. Praise for "The Deepest Night" " " "Fast, fun and full of surprises . . . a solid story with great writing and humor in unexpected places."--"RT Book Reviews" " " "Awe inspiring . . . The writing is beautiful, lyrical, evoking image and all the senses. . . . I highly recommend this series."--"Badass Book Reviews" " " "An exhilarating, heroic adventure . . . exceptionally romantic, entrancing, thrilling and vastly fast moving . . . "The Deepest Night" is like a fine wine. It is smoothly written, rich in taste and definitely needs to be savored! Actually, I think I will read it again; it is so exceptionally written!"--"Romance Junkies Review"show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 298 pages
  • 147.32 x 210.82 x 27.94mm | 340.19g
  • Bantam
  • United States
  • English
  • 0345531736
  • 9780345531735
  • 855,208

About Shana Abe

Shana Abe is the author of "The Sweetest Dark, The Time Weaver, The Treasure Keeper, Queen of Dragons, The Dream Thief, "and "The Smoke Thief."show more

Review quote

"Fast, fun and full of surprises . . . a solid story with great writing and humor in unexpected places."--"RT Book Reviews" " " "Awe inspiring . . . The writing is beautiful, lyrical, evoking image and all the senses. . . . I highly recommend this series."--"Badass Book Reviews" " " "An exhilarating, heroic adventure . . . exceptionally romantic, entrancing, thrilling and vastly fast moving . . . "The Deepest Night" is like a fine wine. It is smoothly written, rich in taste and definitely needs to be savored! Actually, I think I will read it again; it is so exceptionally written!"--"Romance Junkies Reviews"show more

Our customer reviews

(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Random House Publishing Group - Bantam Dell and Netgalley.) This is book 2 in the 'Sweetest Dark' series, and kicks off where book 1 'The Sweetest Dark' left off. **Warning - some unavoidable spoilers for book 1** After the events of the previous book, Eleanore is coming to terms with Jesse's death, and now must find somewhere where she will be able to stay for the summer, whilst the boarding school is closed. Armand it seems can still hear Jesse though. He now speaks to him from the stars, and guides him. He tells Armand that his brother, who was thought dead, is actually alive, and in a German prison. Converting his father's home to a convalescent facility for army members, Armand creates a job and a place to stay for Eleanor for the summer, whilst they plan how to rescue Aubrey. Can Eleanor learn to control her transformations so that Armand may ride her? Will Armand learn the art of transforming himself? And can they rescue Aubrey and bring him home? This was an interesting story, but I didn't enjoy it as much as the first in the series. I felt like this book was a bit of a filler to be honest, something to take us from the first book to the third book, so this was sort of the dull middle bit. This part of the story basically consisted of a lot of procrastinating over where Eleanor would spend the summer, a whole lot of flying by dragon, and a rescue operation. The pace felt a little slow to me, and there just wasn't the magic and excitement that the first book had, there also wasn't the romance. To be honest, I didn't really care about where Eleanor would spend the summer. I really didn't see why there was any argument at all really. Never mind the fact that Armand is in love with her and lives in a big mansion, why would she go back to an orphanage for the summer when Jesse left her so much gold that she could easily spend on somewhere to live (and still have a fortune left over)? The revelation that Armand's brother Aubrey was alive was fairly surprising, but I just couldn't feel excited for the rescue mission, it all just felt a bit stale, and really lacked something for me. I liked that Jesse was still communicating with the Drakon, but for some reason Eleanor wasn't able to hear him, which was also a bit disappointing. The romance between Eleanor and Armand was sorely lacking until right at the very end, and again just didn't excite me. The ending was okay, and we were left with a promise of more trials to come for the Drakons, I seriously hope that the next book is more like the first and less like this one though, as this just didn't do it for me. Overall; an okay second instalment, but where has the magic and romance gone? 6.5 out of 10.show more
by Sarah Elizabeth
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X