A Deeper Faith
9%
off

A Deeper Faith : A Journey Into Spirituality

3 (2 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the tradition of Madeleine L'Engle, Frederick Buechner, and Thomas Merton comes a brilliant new voice--Jeffrey Mark Golliher--whose life, teachings, and writings will inspire and instruct a new generation. The spiritual journey is an adventure that has few road maps. Filled with amazing highs and deep lows, the journey of the soul can be confusing, confounding, and at times elusive. Seekers both new and seasoned need a guide to help them through each phase of growth and learning. A modern-day Merton, Episcopalian priest and cultural anthropologist Jeffrey Mark Golliher is such a guide. He uses the form of letters to a spiritual seeker to act as a mentor and friend, answering questions that we all can relate to, as well as telling stories from his own life and from the lives of the thousands he has counseled and helped over the years. The book follows the liturgical seasons of the Christian calendar, as Golliher brings into focus the perils and promises that a life filled with holiness and awe will bring. Divided into three sections--"Responding to the Call," "Making the Passage," and "The Path of Love"--Golliher's work ushers his reader through the rhythms of the soul, bringing wisdom to the road traveled by all who seek a great understanding and deeper connection to God. This is a book for any reader who wants spiritual nourishment, especially during the dark nights when doubt reigns supreme and faith is hardest to find. Graceful without being preachy, "A Deeper Faith" is the story of believing when all else fails and of holding on to the promise of a devotional life. Honest, revealing, and important, this is a modern classic of an ancient rite of passage, the path of the soul, written by a man who has traveled the path and come back to help each of us.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 259 pages
  • 142.24 x 213.36 x 25.4mm | 385.55g
  • Tarcher
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 1585424048
  • 9781585424047
  • 2,391,495

About Jeff Golliher

Rev. Jeffrey Mark Golliher, Ph.D., a cultural anthropologist and priest in the Episcopal Church, has traveled widely to understand the spiritual dimension of the environmental crisis. For over 10 years, he was Canon for Environmental Justice and Community Development at the Cathedral of St. John the Divine in Manhattan. Today, he is a parish priest and spiritual director, working with people who want to live in more spiritually-aware, healthy, and sustainable lives. As the environmental representative for the worldwide Anglican Communion at the United Nations, he has organized global conferences on spirituality, ecology, and community development, and he has written and edited numerous books and articles on these subjects for the church and the United Nations. He was born and raised in the Blue Ridge Mountains of western North Carolina. He and his wife, Asha, live in upstate New York.show more

Rating details

2 ratings
3 out of 5 stars
5 0% (0)
4 0% (0)
3 100% (2)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X