Death Sentence

Death Sentence

4.29 (6,361 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 6 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 11-14 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Alex's second attempt to break out of Furnace Penetentiary has failed. This time his punishment will be much worse than before. Because in the hidden, bloodstained laboratories beneath the prison, he will be made into a monster. As the warden pumps something evil into his veins--a sinisterly dark nectar--Alex becomes what he most fears . . . a superhuman minion of Furnace. How can he escape when the darkness is inside him? How can he lead the way to freedom if he is lost to himself?
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 264 pages
  • 147 x 211 x 30mm | 386g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0374324948
  • 9780374324940
  • 562,514

Review quote

"In this third installment of the Furnace series, Gordon-Smith has pulled out all the stops. It is a tour de force of action and adventure... Honestly, this reviewer could not put this book down, having thoroughly enjoyed all of the novels in this series, and will anxiously await the release of Fugitives: Escape from Furnace 4 due winter 2012. Please continue to wow us, Mr. Gordon Smith--your books are a pleasure to read." --VOYA

"Fresh and ferocious, Lockdown will hook boys with its gritty, unrelenting surprises." --James Patterson

"Furnace is hotter than hell and twice as much fun! Sign me up for a life sentence of Alexander Gordon Smith!" --Darren Shan, author of the Demonata series

"This nightmarish start to a new series is unrelentingly bleak, uniquely horrifying, and strangely compelling." --Realms of Fantasy magazine on the Escape from Furnace series

"A great next choice for fans of The Maze Runner, The Grassland Trilogy. . . or Lord of the Flies . . . Recommended for dystopia, thriller, and horror fans, or anyone looking for a fast-paced, spine-chilling ride." --Jennifer Robinson's Bookpage on the Escape from Furnace series

"Readers will be turning pages without pause, and the cliff-hanger ending will have them anticipating the next installment. Most appealing is Smith's flowing writing style, filled with kid-speak, colorful adjectives, and amusing analogies. Fans of James Patterson's 'Maximum Ride' and Darren Shan's 'The Demonata' series will find this satisfying fare." --School Library Journal on the Escape from Furnace series

"Not for the faint-hearted, this dramatic British import is both a page- and stomach-turner. . . The pacing is superb, building on the tension as each horror is revealed while saving the ultimate monstrosity for the cliffhanger ending." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books on the Escape from Furnace series

"Lockdown is a beautifully written book that builds itself up on violence, suspense, and mystery." --A YALSA YA Galley Teen Reader
show more

About Alexander Gordon Smith

Alexander Gordon Smith is the author of the Escape from Furnace series, including Lockdown and Solitary. Born in 1979 in Norwich, England, he always wanted to be a writer. After experimenting in the service and retail trades for a few years, Smith decided to go to University. He studied English and American Literature at the University of East Anglia, and it was here that he first explored his love of publishing. Along with poet Luke Wright, he founded Egg Box Publishing, a groundbreaking magazine and press that promotes talented new authors. He also started writing literally hundreds of articles, short stories and books ranging from Scooby Doo comic strips to world atlases, Midsomer Murders to X-Files. The endless research for these projects led to countless book ideas germinating in his head. His first book, The Inventors, written with his nine-year-old brother Jamie, was published in the U.K. in 2007. He lives in England.
show more

Rating details

6,361 ratings
4.29 out of 5 stars
5 50% (3,198)
4 32% (2,058)
3 14% (877)
2 3% (186)
1 1% (42)

Our customer reviews

In the third book of the ESCAPE FROM FURNACE series, Alex Sawyer must confront the worst enemy of all - himself. The Warden of Furnace should be furious with Alex. Alex has tricked him, defied him, and tried to escape - twice! However, the Warden views Alex with something worse than rage: he sees him as a good candidate. Suffering from injuries and burns from his second escape attempt, Alex is taken to the infirmary where the wheezers inject him with the starry midnight nectar that keeps him from feeling pain, but also infuses him with a building anger. As Alex's body tries to heal, the Warden and blacksuits begin poisoning Alex's mind with words, with films, and with promises of what life will be like when he is one of them. Slowly, Alex begins to turn into what he has fought so hard against - an inhabitant of Furnace. The third novel of this series was awesome! Smith has managed to turn the series on the reader. For the first two books, I was anxious for Alex, hoping he'd survive Furnace with his life intact, then his sanity. In this book, I was simply hoping Alex would be able to keep his own identity! The non-stop action keeps the story rolling right along, and leaves with a cliffhanger that makes the wait for the next book so hard to bear!show more
by TeensReadToo
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X