Dear Fahrentheit 451
29%
off

Dear Fahrentheit 451 : Love and Heartbreak in the Stacks

3.8 (4,070 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Librarians spend their lives weeding. Not weeds, but books! Books that have reached the end of their shelf life, both literally and figuratively. They remove the books that patrons no longer check out. And they put back the books they treasure. Annie Spence, who has a decade of experience as a Midwestern librarian, does this not only at her Michigan library but also at home, for her neighbours, at cocktail parties - everywhere. In Dear Fahrenheit 451, she addresses those books directly. We read her love letters to The Goldfinch and Matilda, as well as her snarky break-ups with Fifty Shades of Grey and Dear John. Fler notes to The Virgin Suicides and The Time Traveller's Wife feel like classics, sure to strike a powerful chord with readers. Through the lens of the books in her life, Annie comments on everything from women's psychology to gay culture to health to poverty to childhood aspirations. Hilarious, compassionate, and wise, Dear Fahrenheit 451 is the consummate book-lover's birthday present, stocking stuffer, holiday gift, and all-purpose humour book.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 127 x 180 x 25mm | 272.16g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250106494
  • 9781250106490
  • 193,365

Review quote

"A winsome volume published this year in which the librarian Annie Spence writes letters to books she has loved, or not." --New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for any bibliophile and terrifically funny." --Library Journal, starred Review

"A librarian delivers a charming epistolary volume that begs to be read with pencil in hand.... A smart, funny, forthright librarian in book form." --Kirkus

"Dear Dear Fahrenheit 451, thanks for the lovely reminder of the ways we find ourselves in books." --Booklist, starred review

"The truest testament to the quality of Dear Fahrenheit 451...is that my enjoyment of it was, in the end, great enough to outweigh my fury that someone other than me had written it....She has a unique ability to capture the thoughts and feelings of book lovers, both professional and otherwise, on the page." --NPR

"Readers (and librarians especially) will appreciate the sly stabs or 'roasting' that the author makes to point out fine and not-so-fine moments of key books that she is contemplating removing from her shelf. She weaves in stories from her life inside a library (which is fodder for chuckles in itself). Perfect for fans of Jenny Lawson." --LibraryReads, "The top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love"

"Hard to put down....Dear Fahrenheit 451 is a delightful gem for readers who experience stories as friends, not just words on a page." --Shelf Awareness

"A collection of one public librarian and book lover's snarky, relatable, and hilarious (like really, really, laugh-out-loud hilarious) letters to the books she has loved (and hated, and passed on) throughout her life." --Bustle

"A must-read for librarians (duh) and avid book lovers." --Albany Times-Union

"A funny, reflective look at the books we love and the ones we don't." --Gazette-Mail

"Spence, like all devoted librarians, is informed, well-read, and able to keep a straight face when somebody asks her where to find a book on the Norman Tableknocker Choir. Her knowledge is encyclopedic. And--the reader is warned--she can be a tad salty...As they say at the library, check it out." --The Virginian-Pilot

"Spence is a Michigan librarian with a predictable passion for books and an endearing, if less conventional, habit of talking to them. More accurately, she writes to them with sweetness and candor, with fondness and scorn." --The Kansas City Star

"All books should be as fun as this...I want to keep this book at home, but I know it must be shared with the world." --Burlington Times-News
show more

About Annie Spence

Annie Spence can read while doing almost anything else: walking, cooking breakfast, pretending to be interested in a conversation. She has spent the last decade as a librarian at public libraries in the Midwest and lives in Detroit with her husband and son. Dear Fahrenheit 451 is her first book.
show more

Rating details

4,070 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 26% (1,068)
4 38% (1,559)
3 27% (1,091)
2 7% (269)
1 2% (83)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X