Dear Charlie
33%
off

Dear Charlie

3.93 (148 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Death should never meet the young. But it did. Thanks to my brother, death made fourteen new friends that day. Maybe even fifteen, if you count Charlie. "At its searing best the novel demonstrates how the perpetrator of a despicable act can still be loved, forgiven and very missed" - The Financial Times At sixteen, Sam Macmillan is supposed to be thinking about girls, homework and his upcoming application to music college, not picking up the pieces after the school shooting that his brother Charlie committed. Yet as Sam desperately tries to hang on to the memories he has of his brother, the media storm surrounding their family threatens to destroy everything. And Sam has to question all he thought he knew about life, death, right and wrong. Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why 'A gripping, eye-opening YA novel that I wish I could put in everyone's hands.' - Pretty Little Memoirs Endorsed by Amnesty International UK for reminding us that human rights belong to all of us.show more

Product details

  • 14+
  • Paperback | 287 pages
  • 126 x 198 x 18mm | 160g
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • HQ
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0008181160
  • 9780008181161
  • 98,411

Review quote

'At its searing best the novel demonstrates how the perpetrator of a despicable act can still be loved, forgiven and very missed' - Financial Times 'A very important book [...] a powerful book that will stay with you.' - Culturefly 'An exceptional novel on a controversial and relevant subject today.' - The Bookbag 'An incredibly moving, heartfelt and thought-provoking novel' - Black Plume 'A gripping, eye-opening YA novel that I wish I could put in everyone's hands.' - Pretty Little Memoirs 'You know this book is going to go straight to your heart and rip a little bit of it out.' - Long Story Short 'If you're after a truly thought-provoking book this is well worth a read.' - Bibliowormed 'Utterly heartbreaking and so beautifully written.' - Goodreads reviewer 'Such a clever book.' - Book Angel Booktopia 'Very well written, and tackles a tough subject well' - First Newsshow more

About N. D. Gomes

N.D. Gomes graduated from the University of Stirling with a BA in Media & Journalism Studies, and went on to receive her Master's degree in Education in the U.S. She currently works in a public school system to increase educational opportunities for students with special needs. Prior, N.D. Gomes wrote for the London-based online student political magazine, deAlign and stage-managed student plays at the Lee Strasberg Theatre Institute in New York City where she attended for two years. She currently divides her time between the US and Scotland, but hopes to spend more time at her cottage in Hay-on-Wye in Wales. DEAR CHARLIE is her debut novel.show more

Rating details

148 ratings
3.93 out of 5 stars
5 25% (37)
4 50% (74)
3 20% (29)
2 5% (7)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X