The Dead Tracks

The Dead Tracks : Megan is missing . . . in this HEART-STOPPING THRILLER

4.16 (1,224 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$15.26

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

The Dead Tracks is the second in the David Raker series from Tim Weaver.

A serial killer more terrifying than you could ever imagine . . .
Seventeen-year-old Megan Carver was an unlikely runaway. A straight-A student from a happy home, she studied hard and rarely got into trouble. Six months on, she's never been found.
Missing persons investigator David Raker knows what it's like to grieve. He knows the shadowy world of the lost too. So, when he's hired by Megan's parents to find out what happened, he recognizes their pain - but knows that the darkest secrets can be buried deep.

And Megan's secrets could cost him his life.

Because as Raker investigates her disappearance, he realizes everything is a lie. People close to her are dead. Others are too terrified to talk. And soon the conspiracy of silence leads Raker towards a forest on the edge of the city. A place with a horrifying history - which was once the hunting ground for a brutal, twisted serial killer.

A place known as the Dead Tracks. . .

Hot on the heels of Chasing the Dead, The Dead Tracks by Tim Weaver revisits David Raker and his complex missing persons cases. Fans of Mo Hayder's Gone and Michael Marshall Smith's The Straw Men should look this way.

Praise for Tim Weaver:
'Impressive debut . . . Fans of Mo Hayder will be in seventh hell' Guardian
'Perfect plotting, great characterisation, and the kind of payoff that a thriller of this calibre deserves' Bookgeeks
'A taut thriller' Barry Forshaw
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 560 pages
  • 126 x 196 x 38mm | 399.16g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141042443
  • 9780141042442
  • 297,628

Review quote

Weaver has delivered another cracking crime thriller * Daily Mail * Praise for Tim Weaver * - * It had me racing to the end -- Fiona Barton * Sunday Times bestselling author of The Widow * The rising star of British crime -- Tony Parsons * Sunday Times Number One bestselling author of the DC Max Wolfe series * The writing is beautiful and the plot so cleverly constructed I never guessed any of the twists -- Claire Douglas * Sunday Times bestselling author of Local Girl Missing * Tim Weaver writes books so meticulously researched that the reader is educated as well as entertained, enthralled and intrigued -- Liz Nugent * Sunday Times bestselling author of Lying in Wait * I couldn't put it down * Sun * Fans of Mo Hayder will be in seventh hell * Guardian * Weaver has become one of this country's most respected, bestselling crime writers, and he fully deserves to be . . . Catch him at once * Daily Mail * Weaver's books get better each time - tense, complex, written with flair as well as care * Guardian * Terrific * Sunday Times * A dark, complex and visceral read * Financial Times * The story-telling is little short of brilliant * Crime Fiction Lover * Perfect plotting, great characterisation, and the kind of payoff that a thriller of this calibre deserves * Bookgeeks *
show more

About Tim Weaver

Tim Weaver is the Sunday Times bestselling author of the David Raker Missing Persons series. Weaver has been nominated for a National Book Award, selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club, and shortlisted for the Crime Writers' Association Dagger in the Library award.
He is also the host and producer of the chart-topping Missing podcast, which features experts in the field discussing missing persons investigations from every angle. A former journalist and magazine editor, he lives near Bath with his wife and daughter.
show more

Rating details

1,224 ratings
4.16 out of 5 stars
5 40% (489)
4 42% (508)
3 14% (177)
2 3% (40)
1 1% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X