The Dead of Summer

The Dead of Summer

3.61 (571 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

At thirteen, Anita Naidu was the sole witness to London’s notorious cave murders of 1986, which left three children dead.Told seven years later to the police psychologist who interviewed her at the time of the killings, Anita’s story exposes the savagery of the schoolyard one chilling detail at a time until the truth reveals itself with startling ferocity. Set against the bustling, tourist-packed streets of historic Greenwich, this audacious debut examines sinister events that happen, quite literally, right below the surface. An irresistibly disturbing thriller for fans of A.M.Homes and Mary Gaitskill.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 201 pages
  • 134 x 200 x 16mm | 222.26g
  • Wadsworth Publishing Co Inc
  • Belmont, CA, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0156033739
  • 9780156033732
  • 1,408,625

Flap copy

"Admit how your pulse quickens when you see those headlines: murder spree of schoolgirl loner; boy, 13, rapes classmate; child, 10, stabs pensioner." So says narrator Anita Naidu, and she should know. At thirteen, Anita was the sole witness to London's notorious cave murders of 1986, which left three children dead. Told seven years later to the police psychologist who interviewed her at the time of the killings, Anita's story reveals the savagery of the schoolyard one chilling detail at a time until the truth of what actually happened reveals itself with startling ferocity. Set against the bustling, tourist-packed streets of historic Greenwich, this novel examines sinister events that happen, quite literally, right below the surface.
An audacious debut, The Dead of Summer is written in spare, evocative prose with remarkable psychological acuity and the daring to examine the dark, intensely fragile point between childhood and adolescence, and the morbid impulses of those mutable years.
show more

Back cover copy

"The Dead of Summer is like an addiction--so impossible to put down, it s consumed far too soon. Camilla Way weaves an inexorable web of innocent love and evil, tightening the strands until there is no room to move, no hope of escape."--Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of Still SummerAt thirteen, Anita Naidu was the sole witness to London s notorious cave murders of 1986, which left three children dead. Told seven years later to the police psychologist who interviewed her at the time of the killings, Anita s story exposes the savagery of the schoolyard one chilling detail at a time until the truth reveals itself with startling ferocity. Set against the bustling, tourist-packed streets of historic Greenwich, this audacious debut is a tale of living and dying, quite literally, just below the surface. "Camilla Way's skill at developing realistic, sympathetic characters and a compelling story is impressive. I'm looking forward to reading more from this promising British journalist."--The Kansas City Star

Camilla Way lives in London and works as a journalist. This is her first novel.
"
show more

Review quote

PRAISE FOR THE DEAD OF SUMMER "A beautifully written piece of journalistic fiction-- sensationalist, thrilling, graphic, and compulsive." --Washington Post

"So impossible to put down, it's consumed far too soon. Way weaves an inexorable web of innocent love and evil, tightening the strands until there is no room to move, no hope of escape."--Jacquelyn Mitchard PRAISE FOR THE DEAD OF SUMMER A beautifully written piece of journalistic fiction sensationalist, thrilling, graphic, and compulsive. Washington Post

So impossible to put down, it s consumed far too soon. Way weaves an inexorable web of innocent love and evil, tightening the strands until there is no room to move, no hope of escape. Jacquelyn Mitchard



" PRAISE FOR "THE DEAD OF SUMMER" A beautifully written piece of journalistic fiction sensationalist, thrilling, graphic, and compulsive. " Washington Post" So impossible to put down, it s consumed far too soon. Way weaves an inexorable web of innocent love and evil, tightening the strands until there is no room to move, no hope of escape. Jacquelyn Mitchard

" PRAISE FOR "THE DEAD OF SUMMER" "A beautifully written piece of journalistic fiction-- sensationalist, thrilling, graphic, and compulsive." "--Washington Post""So impossible to put down, it's consumed far too soon. Way weaves an inexorable web of innocent love and evil, tightening the strands until there is no room to move, no hope of escape."--Jacquelyn Mitchard PRAISE FOR "THE DEAD OF SUMMER" "A beautifully written piece of journalistic fiction sensationalist, thrilling, graphic, and compulsive." " Washington Post" "So impossible to put down, it's consumed far too soon. Way weaves an inexorable web of innocent love and evil, tightening the strands until there is no room to move, no hope of escape." Jacquelyn Mitchard
show more

Rating details

571 ratings
3.61 out of 5 stars
5 21% (119)
4 36% (203)
3 30% (174)
2 10% (58)
1 3% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X