Dead Man's Daughter
10%
off

Dead Man's Daughter

3.99 (302 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

Description

A chilling and powerful thriller set in the atmospheric Peak District that will have you on the edge of your seat. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Susie Steiner and Broadchurch.


***



She was racing towards the gorge. The place the locals knew as 'Dead Girl's Drop'...



DI Meg Dalton is thrown headlong into her latest case when she finds a ten-year-old girl running barefoot through the woods in a blood-soaked nightdress. In the house nearby, the girl's father has been brutally stabbed to death.


At first Meg suspects a robbery gone tragically wrong, but something doesn't add up. Why does the girl have no memory of what happened to her? And why has her behaviour changed so dramatically since her recent heart transplant?


The case takes a chilling turn when evidence points to the girl's involvement in her own father's murder. As unsettling family secrets emerge, Meg is forced to question her deepest beliefs to discover the shocking truth, before the killer strikes again...


***



**Roz Watkins' compelling new DI Meg Dalton thriller, Cut to the Bone, is available for pre-order now!**

***



'[Roz Watkins is] a formidable newcomer to British crime writing' Daily Mail




'Outstanding' Stephen Booth




'With Dead Man's Daughter, Roz raises the crime fiction bar yet again. Superbly plotted, sinister and genuinely thought-provoking.' Caz Frear




'An original, creepy, twisted tale. I loved it.' C.J. Tudor




'Absorbingly impressive.' The Times




'A fast-paced, atmospheric story.' Candis




'A clever, twisty conundrum... intelligent and provocative.' Sophie Drapher
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 25mm | 280g
  • HQ
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0008214697
  • 9780008214692
  • 12,347

Review quote

Praise for Dead Man's Daughter:



'A wonderfully pacy, atmospheric thriller.' B A Paris


'Absolutely gripping. I didn't think Roz Watkins could top The Devil's Dice, but this is even better.' Cass Green

'I devoured it in one sitting - so tense and creepy.' Lisa Hall


'Marvellously atmospheric, with a vivid and compelling cast of characters.' Kate Rhodes


'A feisty and likeable DI, a clever, thought-provoking plot and an unbelievably tense, spine-chilling climax.' Caroline England


'Intelligent and intriguing; everything I could want in a crime procedural.' Sophie Draper


'Gripping and chilling.' Julia Ibbotson


'It's great to be back in the company of DI Meg Dalton' Syd Moore


'I loved this 'just one more chapter' follow-on to The Devil's Dice.' Victoria Selman



Praise for The Devil's Dice:



'An outstanding debut. The Devil's Dice had me gripped from the start' Stephen Booth


'Twisty, creepy, funny, and you may shed a tear too. More DI Meg Dalton please!' Caz Frear


'A page-turning debut featuring a fabulous lead character. This mystery thriller is fresh, fun and full of emotion' Susi Holliday


'A fascinating debut with a deliciously old-school mystery at its heart. I can't wait to see what Watkins does next!' Angela Clarke


'A pacy, twisty read that had me on the edge of my seat...what a brilliant debut! ' KL Slater


'Exceptional debut. Beautifully written and observed crime novel, with such well rounded maturity it was a pleasure to read from start to finish.' Amanda Robson


'The Devil's Dice encapsulates the dark heart of the Peaks and enthrals the reader with its clever and compelling plot.' Sarah Ward


'Smart, atmospheric detective story with an unexpected topical twist' Adam Hamdy


'A humdinger of a debut - whip-smart and with a protagonist you're guaranteed to want to get behind' Mel McGrath
show more

About Roz Watkins

Roz Watkins is the author of the DI Meg Dalton crime series, which is set in the Peak District where Roz lives with her partner and a menagerie of demanding animals.


Her first book, The Devil's Dice, was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger Award, and has been optioned for TV. Her follow-up, Dead Man's Daughter, was published to critical acclaim.


Roz studied engineering at Cambridge University before training in patent law. In her spare time, Roz likes to walk in the Peak District, scouting out murder locations.
show more

Rating details

302 ratings
3.99 out of 5 stars
5 33% (101)
4 42% (126)
3 18% (53)
2 5% (16)
1 2% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X