The Day of the Duchess
8%
off

The Day of the Duchess

3.92 (11,659 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

'Smart, sexy, and always romantic' Julia Quinn, Sunday Times bestselling author of the Bridgerton series
'Fabulous' Eloisa James
'For a smart, witty and passionate historical romance, I recommend anything by Sarah MacLean' Lisa Kleypas

The third in Sarah MacLean's sensational new Scandal & Scoundrels series . . . all the fun and guilty pleasure of celebrity gossip, with a Regency twist!

The one woman he will never forget . . .

Marcus Bevingstoke, Duke of Haven, has lived the last three years in self-imposed solitude, paying the price for a mistake he can never reverse and a love he lost forever. The dukedom does not wait, however, and Haven requires an heir, which means he must find himself a wife by summer's end. There is only one problem - he already has one.

The one man she will never forgive . . .

After years in exile, Seraphina, Duchess of Haven, returns to London with a single goal - to reclaim the life she left and find happiness, unencumbered by the man who broke her heart. Haven offers her a deal; Sera can have her freedom, just as soon as she finds her replacement... which requires her to spend the summer in close quarters with the husband she does not want, but somehow cannot resist.

A love that neither can deny

The duke has a single summer to woo his wife and convince her that, despite their broken past, he can give her forever, making every day . . . the day of the Duchess!

This is the third novel in the Regency romance Scandal & Scoundrels series by New York Time bestselling author Sarah MacLean - perfect for fans of Lisa Kleypas and Eloisa James

Scandal & Scoundrel series:
The Rogue Not Taken
A Scot in the Dark
The Day of the Duchess

Praise for Sarah MacLean

'Sarah MacLean has reignited the romance genre with a bolder edge' The New Yorker

'Funny, smart, feminist and roastingly hot' BookRiot.com

'Do yourself a favor and discover the compelling magic of Sarah MacLean' Amanda Quick

'MacLean writes with an entirely unique blend of elegance and ferocity that bursts from every page' Entertainment Weekly

'Great chemistry, intelligence and sparkling humor' RT Book Reviews

Praise for The Day of the Duchess:

'Absolutely one of my favorite second chance romances ever!' The Genre Minx

'The Day of the Duchess is a well-written, passionate and insightful story, full of heartbreak, hope, redemption and love lost and won . . . an excellent second-chance romance' All About Romance

'As soon as I finished The Day of the Duchess, I knew it would be one of the best books I'd read all year. I wholeheartedly loved every bit of this wonderful book, and I encourage all historical romance lovers and second chance romance lovers to read this book!' Booklovers For Life
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 130 x 202 x 28mm | 318g
  • Piatkus Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0349409765
  • 9780349409764
  • 85,207

Review quote

MacLean once again dazzles readers with her literary prowess by delivering another perfectly matched pair of protagonists, a surfeit of amusing secondary characters, stellar use of sensuality, and polished writing generously seasoned with her inimitable, irresistible sense of wit * Booklist * Romance novelist Sarah MacLean has reignited the genre with a bolder edge * New Yorker * Do yourself a favor and discover the compelling magic of Sarah MacLean -- Amanda Quick Smart, sexy and always romantic -- Julia Quinn This book was deeply emotional, kept me up far too late/early, and is Sarah MacLean's most feminist, powerful, beautifully written book to date * Heroes and Heartbreakers * MacLean delivers a dense, richly woven tale of betrayal and grief and family loyalty. A thrilling story of love reborn * Kirkus Reviews * Witty banter, entertaining secondary characters, and a poignant use of Greek myth are the delicious icing on this lovely, romantic story * Starred Bookpage (Top Pick in Romance!) * Stunning descriptions (an underwater ballroom is breathtaking), enlightening historical detail that tempts further research, and brilliant use of the constellations make this smart historical romance another classic from the matchless MacLean * Library Journal * Smart, strong, sensual scandalous and wondrous - don't miss this one! * RT Book Reviews * I'm unabashedly obsessed with all of Sarah MacLean's books, but in The Day of the Duchess she has outdone herself . . . my favorite book I've read so far this year * That's Normal *
show more

About Sarah MacLean

A life-long romance reader, Sarah MacLean wrote her first romance novel on a dare, and never looked back. She is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of historical romances, and the author of a monthly column at The Washington Post celebrating the best of the romance genre. She lives in New York City with her husband, daughter, dog and a ridiculously large collection of romance novels. She loves to hear from readers.
show more

Rating details

11,659 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 32% (3,771)
4 37% (4,346)
3 22% (2,607)
2 6% (716)
1 2% (219)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X