The Day the Crayons Quit
22%
off

The Day the Crayons Quit

4.41 (29,373 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The hilarious, colorful #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon that every kid wants! Gift a copy to someone you love today. Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Beige Crayon is tired of playing second fiddle to Brown Crayon. Black wants to be used for more than just outlining. Blue needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking--each believes he is the true color of the sun. What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best? Kids will be imagining their own humorous conversations with crayons and coloring a blue streak after sharing laughs with Drew Daywalt and New York Times bestseller Oliver Jeffers. This story is perfect as a back-to-school gift, for all budding artists, for fans of humorous books such as Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith, and for fans of Oliver Jeffers' Stuck, The Incredible Book Eating Boy, Lost and Found, and This Moose Belongs to Me. Praise for The Day the Crayons Quit Amazon's 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2013 Goodreads' 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year Winner of the E.B. White Read-Aloud Award * -Hilarious . . . Move over, Click, Clack, Moo; we've got a new contender for the most successful picture-book strike.- -BCCB, starred review -Jeffers . . . elevates crayon drawing to remarkable heights.- -Booklist -Fresh and funny.- -The Wall Street Journal -This book will have children asking to have it read again and again.- -Library Media Connection * -This colorful title should make for an uproarious storytime.- -School Library Journal, starred review * -These memorable personalities will leave readers glancing apprehensively at their own crayon boxes.- -Publishers Weekly, starred review -Utterly original.- -San Francisco Chronicleshow more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Hardback | 30 pages
  • 259.08 x 266.7 x 17.78mm | 430.91g
  • Philomel Books
  • United States
  • English
  • colour illustrations
  • 0399255370
  • 9780399255373
  • 23,042

Review quote

"Jeffers delivers energetic and playful illustrations. The drawings are loose and lively, and with few lines, he makes his characters effectively emote. Clever spreads, such as Duncan's 'white cat in the snow' perfectly capture the crayons' conundrum, and photographic representations of both the letters and coloring pages offer another layer of texture, lending to the tale's overall believability. A comical, fresh look at crayons and color."--"Kirkus Reviews"show more

About Drew Daywalt

Although Drew Daywalt grew up in a haunted house, he now lives in a Southern California home, haunted by only his wife, two kids, and five-month-old German Shepherd. His favorite crayon is Black. Oliver Jeffers (www.oliverjeffersworld.com) makes art and tells stories. His books include How to Catch a Star; Lost and Found, which was the recipient of the prestigious Nestle Children's Book Prize Gold Award in the U.K. and was later adapted into an award-winning animated film; The Way Back Home; The Incredible Book Eating Boy; The Great Paper Caper; The Heart and the Bottle, which was made into a highly acclaimed iPad application narrated by Helena Bonham Carter; Up and Down, the New York Times bestselling Stuck; The Hueys in the New Sweater, a New York Times Best Illustrated Book of the Year; and This Moose Belongs to Me, a New York Times bestseller. Originally from Belfast, Northern Ireland, Oliver now lives and works in Brooklyn, New York.show more

Rating details

29,373 ratings
4.41 out of 5 stars
5 61% (17,909)
4 25% (7,473)
3 9% (2,717)
2 2% (712)
1 2% (562)

Our customer reviews

A new FAVORITE children's book! So CUTE! So AMAZING! So WONDERFUL! So NEED TO READ! Duncan just wants to color... But when he opens the crayon box they have some news for him! CUTE CUTE ending as Duncan finds a way to handle 'the day the crayons quit.'show more
by Shauna Wheelwright
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X