Day of the Accident

Day of the Accident : The compelling and emotional thriller with a twist you won't believe

4.02 (3,021 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

WHAT DID YOU SEE? WHAT DID YOU DO? 'Gripping, poignant...I read it in one sitting' ROSAMUND LUPTON

'Brilliantly compulsive and with one hell of a twist!' CLAIRE DOUGLAS
____________________________

Sixty seconds after she wakes from a coma, Maggie's world is torn apart.

The police tell her that her daughter Elspeth is dead. That she drowned when the car Maggie had been driving plunged into the river. Maggie remembers nothing.

When Maggie begs to see her husband Sean, the police tell her that he has disappeared. He was last seen on the day of her daughter's funeral.

What really happened that day at the river?
Where is Maggie's husband?
And why can't she shake the suspicion that somewhere, somehow...

her daughter is still alive? An emotional page-turner with amazing characters from the Top Ten bestselling author of My Sister's Bones, this thriller is perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh's I Let You Go and Lisa Jewell's Watching You.
______________________________

WHAT AUTHORS AND READERS ARE SAYING:

'Makes you question everything you thought you knew' EMMA KAVANAGH

'You won't see the big twist coming in this haunting thriller. A worthy successor to My Sister's Bones' Daily Express

'Wow! What a fantastic book that completely sucked me in. 5 stars' ***** Amazon reviewer

'A stunning book. Compelling, unsettling and powerful this is a book that will stay with me for a long time' C. L. Taylor

'This story absolutely blew me away' ***** Amazon reviewer

'A clever, twisty plot that takes psychological mind games to a new level. Nuala Ellwood has done it again!' Jane Corry

'A masterpiece' ***** Amazon reviewer

'Rivals The Girl on the Train (and beats it for style)' The Guardian

'This clever, multi- layered novel is simply stunning' Dinah Jefferies

'A gripping rollercoaster ride of a thriller. Keeps you in there right to the last page' Christobel Kent

'A twisty psychological thriller. I raced through it in one sitting!' Lucy Atkins

'A dark, intense, multi-layered thriller that twists and turns until the last page' Tammy Cohen

'Twisty and unpredictable. Kept me guessing until the end' Karen Cleveland

'An accomplished and page-turning thriller...it's impossible to guess where it's going next' Nicholas Searle

'A raw, shocking, and serpentine mystery that keeps you guessing until the very end' Nicolas Obregon, author of Blue Light Yokohama
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 24mm | 277g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0241977347
  • 9780241977347
  • 100,529

Review Text

WHAT AUTHORS AND READERS ARE SAYING:

'Makes you question everything you thought you knew' EMMA KAVANAGH

'Wow! What a fantastic book that completely sucked me in. 5 stars' Amazon reviewer

'A stunning book. Compelling, unsettling and powerful this is a book that will stay with me for a long time' C. L. Taylor

'This story absolutely blew me away' Amazon reviewer

'A clever, twisty plot that takes psychological mind games to a new level. Nuala Ellwood has done it again!' Jane Corry

'A masterpiece' Amazon reviewer

'Rivals The Girl on the Train (and beats it for style)' The Guardian

'This clever, multi-layered novel is simply stunning' Dinah Jefferies

'A gripping rollercoaster ride of a thriller. Keeps you in there right to the last page' Christobel Kent

'A twisty psychological thriller. I raced through it in one sitting!' Lucy Atkins

'A dark, intense, multi-layered thriller that twists and turns until the last page' Tammy Cohen

'Twisty and unpredictable. Kept me guessing until the end' Karen Cleveland

'An accomplished and page-turning thriller...it's impossible to guess where it's going next' Nicholas Searle

'A raw, shocking, and serpentine mystery that keeps you guessing until the very end' Nicolas Obregon, author of Blue Light Yokohama
show more

Review quote

Absolutely brilliant - exciting, clever, it deserves to be a bestseller -- Priscilla Masters Twisty and unpredictable. Kept me guessing until the end -- Karen Cleveland, author of 'Need to Know' This book will take all your expectations and upend them, making you question everything you thought you knew -- Emma Kavanagh A raw, shocking, and serpentine mystery that keeps you guessing until the very end -- Nicolas Obregon, author of 'Blue Light Yokohama' Gripping, engrossing and surprising at every turn -- Rowan Coleman Grabbed me on the first page and didn't let go * Woman and Home * The Day of the Accident had me gasping for breath and on the verge of tears from the get-go. Twisty, haunting, and completely heart-wrenching, you won't breathe until you've turned the very last page. -- Carolyn Jess-Cooke A clever, twisty plot that takes psychological mind games to a new level. Nuala Ellwood has done it again! -- Jane Corry Compelling and intriguing, right from the very first page -- Sharon Bolton Memorable, jaw-dropping * Sunday Times * You won't see the big twist coming in this haunting thriller. A worthy successor to My Sister's Bones * Daily Express * A stunning book. Compelling, unsettling and powerful -- C. L. Taylor
show more

About Nuala Ellwood

Nuala Ellwood is the author of two bestselling novels: My Sister's Bones for which she was selected as one of the Observer's 'New Faces of Fiction 2017' and Day of the Accident. Nuala teaches Creative Writing at York St John University, and lives in the city with her young son.
show more

Rating details

3,021 ratings
4.02 out of 5 stars
5 37% (1,111)
4 38% (1,133)
3 19% (589)
2 4% (132)
1 2% (56)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X