The Daughter's Tale

The Daughter's Tale

3.71 (6,416 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 16-19 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER "[B]reathtakingly threaded together from start to finish with the sound of a beating heart." --The New York Times "Searing." --People "Immersive, both heartbreaking and redemptive, steeped in harrowing historical events and heroic acts of compassion that will have you reflecting on the best and worst the human heart has to offer." --Lisa Wingate, New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl, an unforgettable family saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, We Were the Lucky Ones, and The Alice Network. BERLIN, 1939. The dreams that Amanda Sternberg and her husband, Julius, had for their daughters are shattered when the Nazis descend on Berlin, burning down their beloved family bookshop and sending Julius to a concentration camp. Desperate to save her children, Amanda flees toward the south of France, where the widow of an old friend of her husband's has agreed to take her in. Along the way, a refugee ship headed for Cuba offers another chance at escape and there, at the dock, Amanda is forced to make an impossible choice that will haunt her for the rest of her life. Once in Haute-Vienne, her brief respite is inter-rupted by the arrival of Nazi forces, and Amanda finds herself in a labor camp where she must once again make a heroic sacrifice. NEW YORK, 2015. Eighty-year-old Elise Duval receives a call from a woman bearing messages from a time and country that she forced herself to forget. A French Catholic who arrived in New York after World War II, Elise is shocked to discover that the letters were from her mother, written in German during the war. Despite Elise's best efforts to stave off her past, seven decades of secrets begin to unravel. Based on true events, The Daughter's Tale chronicles one of the most harrowing atrocities perpetrated by the Nazis during the war. Heart-breaking and immersive, it is a beautifully crafted family saga of love, survival, and redemption.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 160 x 234 x 30mm | 454g
  • English
  • 1501187937
  • 9781501187933
  • 2,096,067

Review Text

"A deftly woven novel of women who find the courage to make impossible choices in a terrible time, of sisters split apart by the cruelties of war, of identities lost and found, of families formed and shattered. Through the stories of unique and sympathetic characters, Correa explores the tension between focusing on the present in order to move forward-and the heartbreaking consequences of forgetting who we are. The Daughter's Tale continues to live on in my imagination long after I reached its redemptive closing scene." -Kim Van Alkemade, New York Times bestselling author of Bachelor Girl and Orphan #8
show more

Review quote

"This beautiful novel, set primarily in war-torn Germany and France, draws on the history of a lesser-known Nazi atrocity and tells the tragic story of a family separated by war." --Parade
show more

About Armando Lucas Correa

Correa, Armando Lucas
Armando Lucas Correa is an award-winning journalist, editor, author, and the recipient of several awards from the National Association of Hispanic Publications and the Society of Professional Journalism. He is the author of the international bestseller The German Girl, which is now being published in thirteen languages. He lives in New York City with his partner and their three children. Visit ArmandoLucasCorrea.com.
show more

Rating details

6,416 ratings
3.71 out of 5 stars
5 20% (1,303)
4 40% (2,557)
3 32% (2,035)
2 7% (432)
1 1% (89)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X