The Darker Side

The Darker Side : Smoky Barrett, Book 3

4.11 (4,728 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Imagine a serial killer who has already struck a horrific number of times. A killer who discovers people's secrets - the deepest, darkest secrets we keep even from ourselves - and uses them to target and destroy his victims.

The case begins with a shock, and the twists keep coming, when FBI Special Agent Smoky Barrett and her team investigate a murder brazenly committed on a flight from Texas to Virginia.

Who will the next victim be? Everyone in the world has secrets.

Even Smoky.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 110 x 176 x 32mm | 240g
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London (Londyn), United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0340962259
  • 9780340962251
  • 270,973

Review Text

Cody McFadyen writes the kind of gut-wrenching, fast-paced thrillers that keep you hooked, and terrified, right to the very end. Simon Kernick
show more

Review quote

Terrifically good, terrifically scary . . . very hard to put down * San Francisco Chronicle on SHADOW MAN * Coldly, stunningly brilliant. Move over Thomas Harris, Mcfadyen has brought a new game to town. * Lisa Gardner on SHADOW MAN * Cody is one of those rare writers who have the gift of using words to scare you...There are scenes in this book that will chill you to the bone, but once you start it, there's no turning back, you simply have to finish it * Books Monthly www.gatewaymonthly.co.uk * Readers of Cody Mcfadyen's previous books - SHADOW MAN and THE FACE OF DEATH - will recognise descriptions in the reviews of both titles: shocking... gruesome... terrifying... scary... brilliant. Well, I wouldn't argue against his latest serial-killer outing, THE DARKER SIDE, receiving more of the same, and in spades...I found myself desperate to know who the killer was and why he or she was doing it. And surely that is what good thriller writing is all about. * Shots Mag * This gritty novel is a fun and fast read for thriller fans; recommended * Library Journal * Mcfadyen is a supremely gifted storyteller. THE DARKER SIDE is an utterly compelling thriller. * Booklist starred review * Not just another scary-as-hell serial killer novel (although it is that in spades)...shocking, gruesome, and terrifying...it may also move you to tears...a perfect book for fans of Deaver, Koontz and King * Amazon.com (Editor's Pick) on THE FACE OF DEATH * 'Mcfadyen proved with his first two books that lie is an accomplished exponent of the serial-killer thriller and here he once again displays his ability to create terrifying scenarios as he takes the reader down some very dark alleys' * Canberra Times * Cody McFadyen writes the kind of gut-wrenching, fast-paced thrillers that keep you hooked, and terrified, right to the very end. * Simon Kernick *
show more

About Cody McFadyen

Cody Mcfadyen designed websites until he became a full time writer when he got a publishing deal for his first thriller, SHADOW MAN. He lives in Southern California with his two black labradors. He drinks coffee 'copiously', plays guitar 'badly', and reads 'voraciously'. He abhors adverbs in writing, except when used in short bios like this one.
show more

Rating details

4,728 ratings
4.11 out of 5 stars
5 40% (1,902)
4 38% (1,782)
3 17% (814)
2 4% (169)
1 1% (61)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X