Dark Skies
26%
off

Dark Skies

4.39 (194 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Unwanted betrothals, assassination attempts, and a battle for the crown converge in Danielle L. Jensen's Dark Skies, a new series starter set in the universe of the YA fantasy Sarah J. Maas called everything I look for in a fantasy novel.

A RUNAWAY WITH A HIDDEN PAST
Lydia is a scholar, but books are her downfall when she meddles in the plots of the most powerful man in the Celendor Empire. Her life in danger, she flees west to the far side of the Endless Seas and finds herself entangled in a foreign war where her burgeoning powers are sought by both sides. A COMMANDER IN DISGRACE
Killian is Marked by the God of War, but his gifts fail him when the realm under the dominion of the Corrupter invades Mudamora. Disgraced, he swears his sword to the kingdom's only hope: the crown princess. But the choice sees him caught up in a web of political intrigue that will put his oath - and his heart - to the test. A KINGDOM UNDER SIEGE
With Mudamora falling beneath the armies of the Corrupter, Lydia and Killian strike a bargain to save those they love most--but it is a bargain with unintended and disastrous consequences. Truths are revealed, birthrights claimed, and loyalties questioned--all while a menace deadlier and more far-reaching than they realize sweeps across the world. Readers may read either Dark Shores or Dark Skies first!
Suggested series reading order:
1. Dark Skies or Dark Shores
2. Dark Shores or Dark Skies
3. Gilded Serpent (coming spring 2021)
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 480 pages
  • 148 x 220 x 41mm | 512g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250317762
  • 9781250317766
  • 27,726

Review quote

Praise for Dark Shores "Richly-woven, evocative, and absolutely impossible to put down--I was hooked from the first lines! Dark Shores has everything I look for in a fantasy novel: fresh, unique settings, a cast of complex and diverse characters, and an unflinching boldness with the nuanced world-building. I loved every word."--Sarah J. Maas, #1 New York Times bestselling author The book grabs readers from the beginning with its stellar worldbuilding and multidimensional characters, and the mythical elements are truly believable within the constructs of the story. The perspective shifts between the viewpoints of Teriana and Marcus from chapter to chapter, offering readers greater insights into each. ...A gripping introduction to a new series.--Kirkus Reviews (starred) "This epic first installment in a new series from Jensen (The Malediction Trilogy) features stunning worldbuilding, a vivid cast of secondary characters, and a steamy slow-burn romance between two exceedingly competent and compelling heroes. Dark Shores is not one to miss."--Booklist This is a lush, imaginative world, and as the focus shifts between Teriana and Marcus, it becomes clear that the readers are only getting a glimpse of its complicated history and mythology. ...Their secrets don't, of course, stop Teriana and Marcus from embarking on a steamy romance, and fans of Rutkoski's sighworthy The Winner's Kiss and the high-stakes sea adventure of Levenseller's Daughter of the Pirate King will want to know where Marcus and Teriana journey to next. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Exhilarating fantasy-adventure romance for fans of Tricia Levenseller's Daughter of the Pirate King, Alexandra Christo's To Kill a Kingdom, or Natalie C. Parker's Seafire. Readers will eagerly await the next book in the series. " --School Library Journal
show more

About Danielle L. Jensen

DANIELLE L. JENSEN is the USA Today bestselling author of The Malediction Novels: Stolen Songbird, Hidden Huntress, Warrior Witch, and The Broken Ones, as well as the Bridge Kingdom series. She lives with her family in Calgary, Alberta.
show more

Rating details

194 ratings
4.39 out of 5 stars
5 52% (101)
4 37% (71)
3 10% (19)
2 2% (3)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X