Dark Rise: Dark Rise 1

Dark Rise: Dark Rise 1

4.26 (198 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-14 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

THE DARK WILL RISE. WHO WILL FALL? WHO WILL STAND?

The ancient world of magic is no more. Its heroes are dead, its halls are ruins, and its great battles between Light and Dark are forgotten. Only the Stewards remember. For centuries they have kept vigil, sworn to protect humanity if the Dark King ever returns.

Sixteen-year-old dock boy Will is on the run in London, pursued by the men who killed his mother. When an old servant urges him to seek out the Stewards, Will is ushered into a secret world, where he must train to fight for the Light in the oncoming war.

As the Dark King's return looms, reborn warriors begin to draw battle lines. But when the young descendants of Light and Dark step into their destined roles, old allegiances, old enmities and old flames are awakened. Will must stand with the last heroes of the Light to prevent the calamity that destroyed their world from returning to destroy his own.

Dark Rise is the first book in a thrilling new YA fantasy series from bestselling Australian author CS Pacat.

'Beautiful, classical and deliciously dark.' - Jay Kristoff

'... a YA fantasy that begins breathlessly and rarely lets up ... Dark Rise is perfect for fans of Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo or The Cruel Prince by Holly Black.' Books+Publishing
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 153 x 234mm | 560g
  • Allen & Unwin Children's Books
  • Sydney, Australia
  • 1760875740
  • 9781760875749
  • 198

Review quote

"... a YA fantasy that begins breathlessly and rarely lets up ... Dark Rise is perfect for fans of Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo or The Cruel Prince by Holly Black." Books+Publishing
show more

About C S Pacat

CS Pacat is the internationally acclaimed author of the young adult comic book series Fence, and the bestselling adult trilogy Captive Prince. Born in Australia and educated at the University of Melbourne, CS Pacat has since lived in a number of cities, including Tokyo and Perugia, and currently resides and writes in Melbourne.
show more

Rating details

198 ratings
4.26 out of 5 stars
5 56% (110)
4 26% (51)
3 11% (22)
2 4% (8)
1 4% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X