Dark Metropolis

Dark Metropolis

3.45 (1,173 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

People are disappearing. Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder hears the rumors, but she can barely make ends meet, let alone worry about strangers who've gone missing. Her mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. Thea must make a living for both of them in this sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club, attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even as he hides secrets of his own. Together, they discover a new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if Thea and Freddy aren't careful, the masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too. Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 300 pages
  • 147 x 215 x 27.94mm | 471g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 142316332X
  • 9781423163329
  • 1,720,994

Review quote

The city of Dolamore's urban fantasy has a vaguely 1920-ish feel about it, complete with dance hall girls, labor unrest, and the lingering effects of a devastating war, but here magic exists as well, and it's a dangerous and desired commodity. Three teenagers there unravel a tangled web of government lies and secrets as they search for the truth behind a recent spate of missing persons. Sixteen-year-old Thea is trying to make ends meet as a waitress at the glamorous Telephone Club; her best friend Nan goes missing one night and finds herself in an underground prison with only fleeting memories of previous life; Freddy is a teenaged, silver-haired magician who has the ability to raise the dead and with whom Thea searches for Nan. The novel is primarily driven by dialogue, providing only a sketchy outline of the surrounding world. The lack of detail makes the city and its inner workings generic and underdeveloped, but it also serves to place the teens' search and particularly Freddy's ethical dilemma-how to stop raising the dead for his politician uncle's nefarious schemes-front and center. The bad guys are easily identifiable from the get-go, and a straightforward plot, plentiful dialogue, and tidy resolution makes this a plausible choice for readers, younger and reluctant, wanting to move from middle-grade fantasies to darker YA fare. KQG BCCB"
show more

About Jaclyn Dolamore

Jaclyn Dolamore (www.jaclyndolamore.com) spent her childhood reading as many books as she could lug home from the library and playing elaborate pretend games. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, drawing, and local food. She lives with her partner, Dade, and three weird cats in a Victorian house in western Maryland.
show more

Rating details

1,173 ratings
3.45 out of 5 stars
5 22% (255)
4 26% (309)
3 33% (392)
2 12% (144)
1 6% (73)

Our customer reviews

Dark Metropolis is in many ways unlike any kind of story I've read before: it's set in a very distinct world and even the plot is unique. Unfortunately while I appreciated Dark Metropolis as an innovative read, the characters and story fell flat for me. Reason to Read: 1. A curious setting: Jaclyn borrows from history (think "1927 Berlin") and blends it with her own imagination for a world that is both familiar and strange compared to ours. It's so unusual and creative that I was utterly fascinated by it; I wanted to learn as much about the world in Dark Metropolis as I could. The magic and its system is unlike any type I have ever read about, and Jaclyn is clearly a very innovative writer with plenty of new ideas. Some parts are so dark and disturbing which lend a very eerie sense to the whole book and I particularly enjoyed that. It seems to be hinted at that there is a strong class struggle happening, but that aspect of the plot felt rather undeveloped to me. The brief mentions and allusions to this conflict weren't enough to satisfy my own curiousity or provide much background information which I felt was crucial to establish the story. The rules and politics in Dark Metropolis were completely unfamiliar to me, so I failed to recognize the importance of certain actions and ideas. But most importantly, I felt completely disconnected from the characters. It's written in a third person narrative, and jumps around from focusing on a few different characters. This failed to ground me with any one of the characters and because I felt like I had landed in the middle of a story already taking place, their concerns failed to resonate with me. For example, there was very little attention paid to the development of Thea and Nan's relationship and Nan goes missing so quickly in the book that they're separated nearly from the very start. As a result it was difficult for me to identify with Thea's determination and struggle to find Nan. While yes, this is a deeply imaginative story with some very thoughtful ideas and inspirations it never really felt complete to me. My relationship with characters is paramount to how much I enjoy a book and my failure to identify with the characters in Dark Metropolis means that this story just didn't work for me. ARC received from HBG Canada for review; no other compensation was received.show more
by Brenna Staats
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X