Dark Matter
31%
off

Dark Matter : The Most Mind-Blowing And Twisted Thriller Of The Year

4.1 (91,080 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'Brilliant. . . I think Blake Crouch just invented something new.' - Lee Child

'Are you happy in your life?'

Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.

Before he awakes to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.

Before the man he's never met smiles down at him and says, 'Welcome back.'

In this world he's woken up to, Jason's life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor, but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that's the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could've imagined - one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

From Blake Crouch, the author of the bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy, Dark Matter is a brilliantly plotted tale that is at once sweeping and intimate, mind-bendingly strange and profoundly human - a relentlessly surprising thriller about choices, paths not taken, and how far we'll go to claim the lives we dream of, perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Ready Player One.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 25mm | 295g
  • Pan Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 144729758X
  • 9781447297581
  • 1,436

Review Text

Brilliant. A book to remember. I think Blake Crouch just invented something new Lee Child, No.1 New York Times bestselling author of the Jack Reacher series
show more

Review quote

Crouch keeps the pace swift and the twists exciting. Readers who liked his Wayward Pines trilogy will probably devour this speculative thriller in one sitting [as will] those who enjoy roller-coaster reads in the vein of Harlan Coben * Booklist * Suspenseful, frightening, and sometimes poignant * Kirkus * Excellent characterization and well-crafted tension . . . the rousing and heartfelt ending will leave readers cheering * Publishers Weekly * A mind-blowing sci-fi/suspense/love-story mash-up * Entertainment Weekly * An addictive read! You're in for an intelligent, breath-taking ride -- John Lescroat, New York Times bestselling author of The Fall Dark Matter is the kind of book the word "thriller" was coined for - it's a shooting star through multiple genres, posing fundamental questions about identity and reality before revealing itself as, at its core, a love story -- Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of Guilty Minds and Suspicion Blake Crouch's Dark Matter is a mind-bending thriller of the first order, not merely a rollicking entertainment but a provocative investigation into the nature of second chances. I dare you to put it down, because I sure couldn't -- Justin Cronin, New York Times bestselling author of The Passage Trilogy Terse prose, strong characterisation and clever twists make for a quick, smart, engrossing read * Financial Times * It also might be the most helter-skelter, race-to-the-finish-line thriller you'll read all year * Observer * Wow. I gulped down Dark Matter in one sitting and put it down awed and amazed by the ride. It's fast, smart, addictive - and the most creative, head-spinning novel I've read in ages -- Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of Gravity A masterful, truly original work of suspense. Crouch delivers laser-focused prose . . . and a touching, twisted love story that plays out in ways you'll never see coming -- Harlan Coben It's been a long time since a novel sucked me in and kept me turning pages the way this one did. Exceptional -- Andy Weir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Martian Brilliant. A book to remember. I think Blake Crouch just invented something new -- Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Jack Reacher series
show more

About Blake Crouch

Blake Crouch is best known for the Wayward Pines trilogy, which has sold more than a million copies, been translated into thirty languages, and adapted into a prime-time event series on FOX. He lives in Colorado.
show more

Rating details

91,080 ratings
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 37% (33,857)
4 41% (37,763)
3 17% (15,484)
2 3% (3,151)
1 1% (825)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X