Daring
13%
off

Daring

3.98 (2,440 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Something is rotten in the state of Wisconsin.

Werewolf packs are being united and absorbed into an army of super soldiers by a mysterious figure who speaks like an angel and fights like a demon. And every Knight Templar - keepers of the magical peace between mankind and magickind - who tries to get close to this big bad wolf winds up dead. No knight can infiltrate a group whose members can smell a human from a mile away... no knight except one.

John Charming. Ex knight. Current werewolf. Hunted by the men who trained him, he now might be their only salvation. But animal instincts are rising up to claim John more powerfully than ever before, and he must decide if this new leader of wolves is a madman...or a messiah.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 142 x 208 x 29mm | 360g
  • Orbit
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • New
  • 0316253405
  • 9780316253406
  • 395,851

Review Text

"Second stellar entry in [the] Pax Arcana series.... James should be on your must-read list!" RT Book Reviews on Daring
show more

Review quote

"Loved it! "Charming" is a giant gift basket of mythology and lore delivered by a brilliant new voice in urban fantasy. Elliott James tells stories that are action-packed, often amusing, and always entertaining." "Kevin Hearne, author of "Hounded "on "Charming""" "Grab some snacks and settle back as splendid debut author James serves up a Prince Charming tale yanked sideways...James's reluctant hero faces threats and danger with a smart-ass attitude that keeps the narrative fast-paced, edgy and amusing. Mark this name down -- you will undoubtedly be seeing more from James!"--RT Book Reviews on Charming "This debut introduces a self-deprecating, wisecracking, and honorable-to-a-fault hero who can stand up to such established protagonists as Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Seanan McGuire's October Daye. Combining action and romance -- with an emphasis on action -- this is a top-notch new series opener for lovers of urban fantasy."--Library Journal (Starred review) on Charming "In a saturated literary realm, James's tale stands out for the gritty, believable world he builds...This is masculine urban fantasy in the vein of Jim Butcher and Mark del Franco."--Booklist on Charming "James's world is rich and complex and well worth diving into."--Richard Kadrey on Charming "I loved this book from start to finish. Exciting and innovative, Charming is a great introduction to a world I look forward to spending a lot more time in."--New York Times bestselling author Seanan McGuire on Charming "Loved it! Charming is a giant gift basket of mythology and lore delivered by a brilliant new voice in urban fantasy. Elliott James tells stories that are action-packed, often amusing, and always entertaining."--Kevin Hearne, author of Hounded on Charming "Second stellar entry in [the] Pax Arcana series.... James should be on your must-read list!"--RT Book Reviews on Daring "The Pax Arcana books are seriously good reads. Action, humor, and heart with unexpected twists and turns. If you are (like me) waiting for the next Butcher or Hearne--pick up Elliott James. Then you can bite your nails waiting for the next James, too."--Patricia Briggs, New York Times #1 bestselling author of the Mercy Thompson series
show more

About Elliott James

An army brat and gypsy scholar, Elliott James is currently living in the Blue Ridge mountains of southwest Virginia. An avid reader since the age of three (or that's what his family swears anyhow), he has an abiding interest in mythology, martial arts, live music, hiking, and used bookstores. Irrationally convinced that cellphone technology was inserted into human culture by aliens who want to turn to us into easily tracked herd beasts, Elliott has one anyhow but keeps it in a locked tinfoil covered box which he will sometimes sit and stare at mistrustfully for hours. Okay that was a lie. Elliott lies a lot; in fact, he decided to become a writer so that he could get paid for it.
show more

Rating details

2,440 ratings
3.98 out of 5 stars
5 27% (667)
4 47% (1,150)
3 22% (547)
2 3% (67)
1 0% (9)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X