A Dangerous Fiction

A Dangerous Fiction : A Mystery

3.8 (352 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$26.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

When a glamorous literary agent falls prey to a violent stalker, she discovers that the publishing biz can really be murder, for fans of "The Spellman Files "and "Maisie Dobbs" "Suspenseful . . . Barbara Rogan cleverly explores . . . our capacity for self-deception and weaves it into an absorbing mystery that keeps its secret until the very end." --NPR Jo Donovan always manages to come out on top. Originally from the backwoods of Appalachia, she forged a hard path to elegant lunches and parties among New York City's literati. At thirty-five, she's the widow of the renowned novelist (and notorious playboy) Hugo Donovan, the owner of one of the best literary agencies in town, and is one of the most sought-after agents in the business. But all this is about to fall apart, as a would-be client turns stalker, a hack shops around a proposal for an unauthorized tell-all biography of Hugo, and a handsome old flame shows up without warning. Both a seasoned author and a former literary agent herself, Barbara Rogan knows the publishing world from all angles. Fans of Lisa Lutz and Jaqueline Winspear will adore Jo Donovan and Rogan's wickedly sharp tale that skewers the dangerous fictions we read--and the dangerous fictions we tell ourselves.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 160.02 x 231.14 x 30.48mm | 408.23g
  • VIKING
  • United States
  • English
  • New.
  • 0670026506
  • 9780670026500
  • 2,044,121

Review quote

Praise for "A Dangerous Fiction "by Barbara Rogan: "A terrific read! A thriller with a psychological heart of mystery, a double-ended love story, and a fascinating look at the world of high-stakes publishing." --Diana Gabaldon, "New York" "Times "bestselling author of "Outlander "and "An Echo in the Bone " "Clearly, the most dangerous fictions are the ones we tell ourselves." --J. A. Jance, "New York Times "bestselling author of "Judgment Call "and "Edge of Evil " "Required reading: A glamorous New York literary agent has a lot to fear--and not just from reading bad novels. In Rogan's thriller, uber-agent Jo Donovan finds members of her uptown inner circle brutally murdered shortly after she rejects a manuscript. But things may get worse: She is certain the detective sent by the NYPD is not New York's finest. In fact, he's her ex-boyfriend. You might want to lock your door." --"New York Post" "Rogan gives readers a lot of insider publishing tidbits and provides a very likeable and believable protagonist in Jo." --"Cleveland Plain Dealer" "Fast-paced and witty, full of deftly drawn characters, Rogan's literary mystery introduces a tough but compassionate heroine and an entertaining new series." --"Shelf Awareness" "This literary mystery . . . [is] a perfect beach read." --"Library Journal" "Boasting an exciting pace, well-constructed scenes, and inside information about the publishing word, this engaging mystery will attract readers of P. D. James' similar "Original Sin "(1995), an Adam Dalgliesh crime story set in the London publishing world." --"Booklist " "Rogan does a masterful job of juggling the mounting suspense with a full-bodied portrait of New York literary life . . . The fresh setting, the tricky plot, and the strong characterizations make "A Dangerous Fiction "one of the outstanding mysteries of 2013." --CT News "A clever mystery . . . [with] an appealing, empathetic narrator." --"Publishers Weekly" "The tension is inescapable as the novel races to its dramatic conclusion." --"Book Reporter" ""A Dangerous Fiction" not only has a suspenseful plot, but a cast of colorful, carefully drawn secondary players who advance the theme that we all may be living a dangerous fiction--not really knowing others, not really knowing ourselves. . . . Barbara Rogan cleverly explores . . . our capacity for self-deception and weaves it into an absorbing mystery that keeps its secret until the very end." --NPRshow more

About Barbara Rogan

Barbara Rogan is the author of eight novels and coauthor of two nonfiction books. Her fiction has been translated into six languages. She has taught fiction writing at Hofstra University and currently teaches for Writers Digest University and in her own online school, Next Level Workshops. She lives on Long Island.show more

Rating details

352 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 25% (88)
4 39% (137)
3 29% (101)
2 6% (22)
1 1% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X