Dangerous Calm

Dangerous Calm : Selected Stories

  • Electronic book text
By (author)  , Introduction by 

List price: US$9.90

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


In 1945 the publication of AT MRS LIPPINCOTE'S launched Elizabeth Taylor's career. The author of twelve novels and four collections of short stories, she excelled at unravelling the comedy of ordinary life. DANGEROUS CALM draws on her volumes of short stories to produce a fine selection of her work. Stories such as 'Summer Schools', 'Flesh' and 'The Devastating Boys' confirm her status as one of the finest short story writers. This selection also features two previously unpublished stories and three uncollected ones, including the late, poignant tale, 'The Wrong Order'. Together they celebrate a formidable stylist whose work has delighted readers and critics for fifty years.
show more

Product details

  • Electronic book text
  • Little, Brown Book Group
  • Virago Press Ltd
  • United Kingdom
  • 0748131655
  • 9780748131655

About Elizabeth Taylor

Elizabeth Taylor was born in Reading, Berks in 1912 and educated at the Abbey School. She worked as a governess in a library and at the age of 24 married a businessman with whom she had a son and daughter. Much of her married life was spent in the village of Penn, Bucks. She published twelve novels and four volumes of short stories. She died in 1975.
show more