Dangerous Alliance: An Austentacious Romance
11%
off

Dangerous Alliance: An Austentacious Romance

4.06 (107 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue meets Jane Austen in this witty, winking historical romance with a dash of mystery!

Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older sister happily wed, the future of her family estate secure, and ample opportunity to while her time away in the fields around her home.

But now Vicky must marry-or find herself and her family destitute. Armed only with the wisdom she has gained from her beloved novels by Jane Austen, she enters society's treacherous season.

Sadly, Miss Austen has little to say about Vicky's exact circumstances: whether the roguish Mr. Carmichael is indeed a scoundrel, if her former best friend, Tom Sherborne, is out for her dowry or for her heart, or even how to fend off the attentions of the foppish Mr. Silby, he of the unfortunate fashion sensibility.

Most unfortunately of all, Vicky's books are silent on the topic of the mysterious accidents cropping up around her...ones that could prevent her from surviving until her wedding day.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 448 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 35mm | 494g
  • HarperTeen
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062857304
  • 9780062857309
  • 9,203

Review quote

"Contemporary fans of the Austen novels and their screen adaptations will relish this rousing, late Georgian romance." -- ALA Booklist &#8220While Vicky takes center stage, interspersed perspectives from other characters, including those of Sherborne and his half-sister, deepen the story's themes... Frequent references to then-popular novels and a thoughtful historical note add additional context to this spirited romp." -- Publishers Weekly "Charming and fun. Replete with intrigue, grand parties, and romantic entanglements, fans of Jane Austen will positively devour this book." -- Jessica Cluess, author of A Shadow Bright and Burning "Romance fans and Jane Austen devotees will devour this delicious Regency romp." -- Alexa Donne, author of Brightly Burning and The Stars We Steal "Bathed in Cohen's richly textured language, Dangerous Alliance boldly shines a light on issues women struggled with historically: abuse, obstruction, and dominance. A timeless story." -- Shelley Sackier, author of The Antidote and The Freemason's Daughter "A fresh, enchanting addition to the historical fiction genre! The perfect read for fans of Jane Austen and Downton Abbey!" -- Tobie Easton, award winning author of the Mer Chronicles series "The perfect combination of mystery, intriguing characters, surprising action, and delightful romance. I loved every single word." -- Samantha Hastings, author of The Last Word
show more

About Jennieke Cohen

A lifelong lover of history and literature, Jennieke Cohen studied English history at Cambridge University before receiving her undergraduate degree from the University of California, Davis. After interning with a literary agent and at Prima Games (an imprint of Penguin Random House), she entered the Master of Professional Writing program at the University of Southern California. Cohen has worked as a writing consultant and as a ghostwriter and has written prescriptive nonfiction. She is a member of SCBWI, Romance Writers of America, and the Jane Austen Society of North America. When not writing or reading, Cohen can be found watching classic movies, drinking tea, singing opera and musical theater, and planning her next trip to England. She lives in California. You can visit her online at www.jenniekecohen.com, and find her on Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest.
show more

Rating details

107 ratings
4.06 out of 5 stars
5 44% (47)
4 30% (32)
3 17% (18)
2 7% (8)
1 2% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X