Dance Music Manual: v. 2

Dance Music Manual: v. 2 : Music Theory and Practical Composition

4.38 (8 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$39.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Understanding music theory and structure is essential for a dance musician's success in producing original music; in this book Snoman breaks down and covers musical construction from a dance musician's perspective showing how the technology comes together to produce a commercial track. The first section offers a 'lite' introduction to music theory; anyone serious about getting their tracks to the next level has to master a bit of theory! Section 2 is a unique tutorial walking readers through the production of a typical club track. The track built throughout the second part of the book is already set for commercial release, readers are learning the 'how' from a successful publicly released track. For readers of "The Dance Music Manual, Vol. 1", "Volume 2" is a must have additional buy. "Volume 2" complements and builds on "Volume 1", which covers the recording and genres of dance music. Together, they form the ultimate "Dance Music Manual"! It teaches the music theory and how its specifically applicable to dance and club music. It shows how dance music construction and production come together through successful released commercially available club track.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 504 pages
  • 191 x 235mm
  • Focal Press
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 024052196X
  • 9780240521961
  • 1,117,370

Table of contents

Part 1: Music Theory Chapter 1: Introduction to Music Theory Chapter 2: The Keyboard Chapter 3: Building Scales Chapter 4: Identifying Keys Chapter 5: Notation Part 1: Rhythm Chapter 6: Notation Part 2: Transcribing Chapter 7: Melodies, motifs and leads Chapter 8: Creating Tension and Release Chapter 9: Chord Progressions

Part 2: Music in Practice - Building a dance track Chapter 10: Production Techniques 1: Building the Rhythms Chapter 11: Production Techniques 2: Building the Basslines Chapter 12: Production Techniques 3: Building the Lead Lines Chapter 13: Production Techniques 4: Harmonies Chapter 14: Production Techniques 5: Sound Effects Chapter 14: Production Techniques 6: The Arrangement Chapter 15: Production Techniques 7: Drum n Bass Chapter 16: Production Techniques 8: Trance Chapter 17: Production Techniques 9: Techno Chapter 18: Production Techniques 10: Remixing Chapter 19: Production Techniques 11: Working in Vocals Chapter 20: Production Techniques 12: Mixing
show more

About Rick Snoman

Rick Snoman has been actively involved in the dance music scene since the late eighties and has produced and released numerous white labels and remixed over thirty professional artists solely for the dance floor. He has held seminars across the UK on remixing and producing club-based dance music and written numerous articles and reviews for leading music technology magazines and websites.
show more

Rating details

8 ratings
4.38 out of 5 stars
5 38% (3)
4 62% (5)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X