DEAD GONE

DEAD GONE

3.77 (1,353 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$13.20

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

The young girl you have found isn't the first experiment I've carried out. She won't be the last.


A tense, unpredictable crime debut that will not only have you gripped, but will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and Mark Billingham.


A serial killer is stalking the streets of Liverpool, gruesomely murdering victims as part of a series of infamous, unethical and deadly psychological experiments.


When it becomes apparent that each victim has ties to the City of Liverpool University, DI David Murphy and DS Laura Rossi realise they're chasing a killer unlike any they've hunted before - one who doesn't just want his victims' bodies, but wants their minds too.


With a series of psychological twists Dead Gone will keep you guessing until the very end.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 27mm | 290g
  • AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0007525575
  • 9780007525577
  • 172,214

Review quote

"A chilling debut from a writer to watch..." Mark Billingham


"A darkly impressive first novel, disturbing and intelligent." The Times


"Gripping, unpredictable, genuinely shocking and impossible to put down, Dead Gone is a remarkable debut." Steve Mosby


"Tense and darkly playful, Dead Gone is a cleverly constructed debut thriller that explores the twisted potential for psychological experimentation." Chris Ewan


`Chilling, unpredictable and compulsive, this is a thrill a page rip-roaring read - Luca Veste: a welcome new name to look out for.' lovereading.co.uk
show more

About Luca Veste

Luca Veste is a writer of Italian and Scouse heritage, currently living on the wrong side of the River Mersey. He is married with two young daughters, and is himself one of nine children.


He is currently a mature student, studying Psychology and Criminology in Liverpool.


He is the editor of the Spinetingler Award nominated charity anthology series 'Off The Record', which raises money for children's literacy charities. He also has short stories in numerous publications.


A former civil servant, actor, and musician, he now divides his time between home life, university work and writing.
show more

Rating details

1,353 ratings
3.77 out of 5 stars
5 27% (369)
4 37% (496)
3 26% (348)
2 7% (101)
1 3% (39)

Our customer reviews

Dead Gone is a Brilliant Scouse Thriller Dead Gone by Luca Veste is a brilliant debut by the scouse author who also happens to be a mature psychology and criminology student and he brings that knowledge to the fore in this book. For a debut novel this is a brilliant psychological and police procedural crime thriller, with more twists and turns than your average game of twister. Dead Gone is a brilliant example of twisted storytelling that keeps you on edge and those pages turning because you are trying to get inside the head of killer and detectives. We are introduced to Detective Inspector David Murphy and Detective Sergeant Laura Rossi work together on the major incident team for Liverpool North which also covers the City centre of Liverpool. We are introduced to them as they start to investigate a murder the victim of which is found in Sefton Park with a letter which is the beginning of a chase for which they rarely get clues or that lucky break. But we start with the abduction of Jemma from a night out in Liverpool and we see how it all ties together towards the end. As the bodies start appearing all over Liverpool City centre each one comes with a letter telling them that this body is part of an ongoing experiment but leaves them no clues. We do get the occasional hint that this is an experiment referring back to historic and very controversial psychological experiments, such as those by the CIA and the use of LSD. Dead Gone takes these old experiments and brings them to life in Liverpool and at the same time is poking sticks at Murphy and Rossi. The only real clues that they have is that somehow these murders all centre round the City of Liverpool University and first they must work out how this link falls into place before they can make progress with the murder investigations. What I like about Dead Gone is that as well as being given the back story of DI Murphy and DS Rossi they are rounded characters, scousers who love their city even if one is now a woolly back. We see how this investigation impacts upon Murphy and all the skeletons in his cupboards and how some involved in the investigation are not afraid to point them out to him. Even in the depths of despair Murphy realises he has his issues to deal with but he has the murders to clear up first. We are able to see how this impacts upon his mental health and is torture to him. Veste has written a brilliant thriller where there are no clear clues to who is actually committing the murders and the real reason why. I do hope that we get another chance to meet Murphy and Rossi and see how these detectives develop as a pairing. Right now though I cannot recommend Dead Gone highly enough.show more
by Paul D
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X