The Cusanus Game

The Cusanus Game

3.22 (133 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$25.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Biologist Domenica Ligrina fears her planet is dying. She might be right. An atomic disaster near the French-German border has contaminated Northern Europe with radioactivity. Economic and political calamities are destroying the whole planet. Human DNA is mutating, plant species are going extinct, and scientists are feverishly working on possible solutions. It becomes increasingly apparent that the key to future salvation lies in the past. In 2052 a secret research facility in the Vatican is recruiting scientists for a mission to restore the flora of the irradiated territories. The institute claims to have time travel. When Domenica's sometime-lover tells her that he knows her future but that she must decide her own fate, she enlists despite his ambiguous warning. The Middle Ages hold Domenica spellbound. She immerses herself in the mysteries, puzzles, and peculiarities of a culture foreign to her, though she risks changing the past with effects far more disastrous than radiation poisoning. Perhaps there is more than one Domenica, and more than one catastrophe In the tradition of Stanislaw Lem and Philip K. Dick, Wolfgang Jeschke's "The Cusanus Game "is a novel of future disaster in Europe by the grand master of German science fictionshow more

Product details

  • Hardback | 544 pages
  • 168 x 236 x 46mm | 639.99g
  • Tor Books
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 076531908X
  • 9780765319081
  • 999,259

Review quote

One of the most important science fiction writers of Europe today.--Michael Kandel, international award-winning translator of Stanislaw Lemshow more

About Wolfgang Jeschke

WOLFGANG JESCHKE is a German science fiction author and editor. His books include "The Last Day of Creation "and "Midas."show more

Rating details

133 ratings
3.22 out of 5 stars
5 12% (16)
4 32% (43)
3 29% (39)
2 19% (25)
1 8% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X