The Crown of Embers

The Crown of Embers

4.17 (46,186 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
4.17 (46,186 ratings by Goodreads)

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

"Carson joins the ranks of writers like Kristin Cashore, Megan Whalen Turner, and Tamora Pierce as one of YA's best writers of high fantasy."--Locus Magazine

The second book in Rae Carson's award-winning and New York Times-bestselling trilogy! Betrayal, love, and untold power fuel the heroic adventure of a seventeen-year-old princess turned warrior-queen. Fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Kendare Blake and Sarah J. Maas will be riveted.

She does not know what awaits her at the enemy's gate.

Elisa led her people to victory over a terrifying, sorcerous army. Her place as queen should be secure. But it isn't. Her enemies come at her like ghosts in a dream, from foreign realms and even from within her own court. And her destiny as the chosen one remains uncertain.

To conquer the power she bears, Elisa must journey from the hidden catacombs beneath her own city to treacherous seas and a long-forgotten island. With her go a one-eyed spy, a traitor, and the man with whom--despite everything--she is falling in love. If she's lucky, she'll return. But there will be a cost.

Don't miss The Empire of Dreams, Rae Carson's action-packed return to the world of The Girl of Fire and Thorns!
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 416 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 33mm | 481g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0062026518
  • 9780062026514
  • 138,928

Back cover copy

She does not know what awaits her at the enemy's gate.

Elisa is a hero.

She led her people to victory over a terrifying, sorcerous army. Her place as the country's ruler should be secure. But it isn't.

Her enemies come at her like ghosts in a dream, from foreign realms and even from within her own court. And her destiny as the chosen one has not yet been fulfilled.

To conquer the power she bears, once and for all, Elisa must follow a trail of long-forgotten--and forbidden--clues, from the deep, hidden catacombs of her own city to the treacherous seas. With her go a one-eyed spy, a traitor, and the man whom--despite everything--she is falling in love with.

If she's lucky, she will return from this journey. But there will be a cost.
show more

Review quote

"There are books you like, and books you love, and then there are the ones that make you go past 'love' and straight into, 'I think I may need to marry this book.' The Crown of Embers was that type of book for me. I adored it." -- Rachel Hawkins, author of the New York Times bestselling Hex Hall series

"Rae Carson has proved she's a master and has shaken up the YA genre. . . . Nothing is held back." -- USA Today

Praise for The Girl of Fire and Thorns: William C. Morris Award Finalist Andre Norton Award Finalist "Romantic, lush, and thought provoking." -- Booklist

Praise for The Girl of Fire and Thorns: "Fans of Tamora Pierce's "Beka Cooper" series will find a kindred spirit in Elisa as she experiences great adversity and heart-wrenching loss." -- School Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for The Girl of Fire and Thorns: "Carson's mature writing style, thoughtful storytelling, appealing characters, and surprising twists add up to a page-turner with broad appeal." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
show more

Rating details

46,186 ratings
4.17 out of 5 stars
5 43% (19,887)
4 37% (17,224)
3 15% (7,013)
2 3% (1,372)
1 1% (690)

Our customer reviews

The Crown of Embers by Rae Carson is the second book in the Fire and Thorns trilogy, so there are likely to be spoilers for Girl of Fire and Thorns. I feel the need to preface this review with the fact that I read Crown of Embers will traveling, i.e. in hotels and riding in cars. This means that I was frequently distracted by conversations around me, music playing, and babies crying. I'm a bit worried that this kept me from being pulled in as much as many other people were, but I tend to think that if a book is going to really engross me, it will manage even if sometimes I'm getting distracted from it. I actually found myself having difficulty deciding on any opinion right after I finished it, which is a bit odd for my very opinionated brain, haha. But, just wanted to warn you in case you are unhappy that I didn't think Crown of Embers was quite a 5 star book for me ;). Strengths: I very much enjoyed the increased exploration of magic and lore in Crown of Embers. Elisa is discovering more about her Godstone and the world around her, with some heavy hints that she is still being kept in the dark about somethings. I can't wait to find out if the third book gives us answers :D. Elisa admittedly grew a lot as a person in Girl of Fire and Thorns in terms of self-acceptance and self-confidence around her body. However, in Crown of Embers she needs to figure out what kind of queen she wants to be and how the people from her past will fit into her future. It's been an interesting ride so far! I was very happy that Crown of Embers features old friends and new, even though at first it didn't seem like it would. Crown of Embers succeeded in giving much more depth to certain secondary characters and I quite enjoyed this insight into their lives. I want more! Weaknesses: The ending of Crown of Embers almost worked out too well to my brain. Things felt convenient and part of me was grumbling that it was unrealistic, though I will admit that of course it was unrealistic, magic doesn't happen in real life .. But still, you know what I mean right?? I suppose this is along the lines of the above, but now I'm talking about the middle. Despite harrowing circumstances, I didn't feel enough tension in Crown of Embers. It is tricky to balance the whole "God's chosen one" with "Omg are they going to make it??" You'd think I'd be satisfied that no one was safe after Girl of Fire and Thorns, but apparently not.... Summary: I definitely enjoyed Crown of Embers and am looking forward to reading Bitter Kingdom. However, I found my slight discontent from the first book carried over into the second book. This makes it seem that if you liked the first one, you will like the second one, and if you didn't, then you won't. At least the books are consistent right? I'm really hoping for an epic ending in Bitter Kingdom :D.show more
by Anya
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X