Critical Point

Critical Point

3.91 (255 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the Czech Republic in 9-21 business days.


Not ordering to the Czech Republic? Click here.

Description

S. L. Huang's Critical Point is a breakout SF thriller for fans of John Scalzi and Greg Rucka. Math-genius mercenary Cas Russell has stopped a shadow organization from brainwashing the world and discovered her past was deliberately erased and her superhuman abilities deliberately created. And that's just the start: when a demolitions expert targets Cas and her friends, and the hidden conspiracy behind Cas's past starts to reappear, the past, present, and future collide in a race to save one of her dearest friends.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 165 x 236 x 41mm | 544g
  • New York
  • English
  • 1250180368
  • 9781250180360
  • 2,371,545

Review quote

Exhilarating action sequences.... clever plotting and thrilling action. --Publishers Weekly High-stakes action and emotional velocity . . . a sf thriller that fans will truly enjoy. --Library Journal [Critical Point] starts with a bang and never lets up. --Booklist Praise for Zero Sum Game: A smart, calculated action thriller that keeps the reader guessing.--Den of Geek Trust us, trigonometry has never sounded so cool.--Paste Magazine "Fun and original."--San Francisco Chronicle A fast-paced, darkly humorous read with a lot of heart for fans of action and urban fantasy, as well as lovers of Wolverine and other morally ambiguous, gritty superheroes with a mysterious past.--Booklist, Starred Review Fast, furious, and adds up to one of the coolest, most crackin' reads this year.--Chuck Wendig The best novel I've read this year; a heroine I fell in love with.--Eric Van Lustbader, #1 New York Times bestselling author Cas Russell is who I want to be when I grow up. She kicks ass with her fists and her brain--a true twenty-first century action hero. I loved this book.--Richard Kadrey Paced at a flat out sprint.--Kate Elliott "The smartest and thrillingest book you'll read all year."--Ken Liu Intense, vivid, and insanely clever, with a great heroine--I couldn't put it down.--Yoon Ha Lee, New York Times bestselling author This hard-to-put-down, action-packed sf debut is intelligent and entertaining. With Cas, Huang has created an indelible, flawed character who makes mathematics seem almost magical.--Library Journal, Starred Review "A paranormal thriller in which both the action and the questions don't stop....Cas is an awesome antiheroine...exciting, nasty fun...an excellent harbinger for books to come."--Kirkus
show more

About S L Huang

S. L. HUANG has a math degree from MIT and is a professional stuntwoman & armorer who has worked in Hollywood on Battlestar Galactica and a number of other productions. Her short fiction has appeared in Strange Horizons, Nature, and The Best American Science Fiction & Fantasy 2016. She is the author of the Cas Russell series, which includes Zero Sum Game, Null Set, and Critical Point
show more

Rating details

255 ratings
3.91 out of 5 stars
5 27% (70)
4 40% (103)
3 29% (74)
2 2% (6)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X