Crimson and Bone: a dark and gripping tale of love and obsession
25%
off

Crimson and Bone: a dark and gripping tale of love and obsession

3.82 (123 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'A rich jewel of a story, full of desire and danger' - Julie Cohen. A dark tale of love and obsession, perfect for fans of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Wicked Cometh.

London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for - she is a penniless prostitute, newly evicted from her home and pregnant. On the night she plans to cast herself from Waterloo Bridge into the icy waters of the Thames, her life is saved by Francis Maybrick Gill, a talented pre-Raphaelite painter - and her world is changed forever.

Francis takes Annie as his artist's muse, elevating her from fallen woman to society's darling. With her otherworldly beauty now the toast of London, her dark past is left far behind.

But Annie's lavish new life is not all it seems - and there are some who won't let her forget where she came from...

'A thrilling tale of love, lust and revenge' The Lady

'A captivating gothic blend of mystery and romance' Sunday Mirror

'Exquisite...this is historical fiction at its best' - Book Literarti Reviews

'Gothic, dark [and] rich with atmosphere' - Louise Loves books

'A glorious story of art and passion' - Tea Party Princess

'Dazzling' Goodreads Reviewer

'Captivating' Goodreads Reviewer
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 24mm | 220g
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1473610540
  • 9781473610545
  • 306,752

Review quote

A great summer read, I would highly recommend it if you enjoy tense, romantic thrillers, and have an interest in the Victorian art world. * Sixty Surfers * Captured in every character and locale is Fiorato's artistic flourish: a true chiaroscurist, she renders her models not only with radiant colour but rich meaning -- To the End of Her Days Jack the Ripper meets Pygmalion... very creepy * Best * 'An exquisite read...will keep you engaged from the first page to the last. This is historical fiction at its best.' -- Book Literarti Reviews A beautifully-crafted novel..., by turns opulent and visceral. The encroaching sense of menace was perfectly paced, as was the slow reveal of the shocking truth underpinning the story. I adored it. -- Clare Harvey, author of The Gunner Girl 'A rich jewel of a story, full of colour, desire and danger. I was transfixed.' -- Julie Cohen, author of Dear Thing Marina Fiorato's latest novel will delight her ever increasing number of fans -- Dilly Court, bestselling author A thrilling tale of love, lust, and revenge * The Lady * A captivating Gothic blend of mystery and romance * Sunday Mirror *
show more

About Marina Fiorato

Marina Fiorato is half-Venetian. She was born in Manchester and raised in the Yorkshire Dales. She is a history graduate of Oxford University and the University of Venice, where she read for a master's degree in Shakespeare. After university she studied art and worked in the film and music industries, creating visuals for U2, The Rolling Stones and the Queen musical We Will Rock You. Her novels Daughter of Siena and Beatrice & Benedick were shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists' Association Historial Fiction Award. Marina was married on the Grand Canal and lives in north London with her husband, son and daughter. You can find out more about Marina and her writing at www.marinafiorato.com and follow her on Twitter @marinafiorato
show more

Rating details

123 ratings
3.82 out of 5 stars
5 23% (28)
4 47% (58)
3 23% (28)
2 5% (6)
1 2% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X