The Crime at Black Dudley

The Crime at Black Dudley

3.64 (3,985 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$12.79

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A house-party with a glittering guest-list. An imposing country estate with endless shadowy staircases and unused rooms. The breathless period between the two world wars. It's the ideal setting for the classic English murder mystery, and bringing it to perfection is the introduction in a supporting role, for the first and last time of Albert Campion, the consummate (if compulsively quipping) Gentleman Sleuth. The guests take some time to be grateful for Campion's presence; he is a bit peculiar, and they have more than enough distractions, what with various complicated love affairs, a curious ritual involving a jewelled dagger, and a deadly game of hide-and-seek. But the savvy reader will be singing hosannas from Campion's first appearance, knowing that it marks the beginning of one of the most intelligent and delightful series in the history of crime fiction. "An extremely fine tale of death in an English country house" New York Times "In Margery Allingham's hands the detective novel is transformed from a craft into an art" The Sunday Telegraph (UK) Fans of Dorothy L. Sayers, Agatha Christie, and the Golden Age of British Mysteryshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 208 pages
  • 106 x 172 x 14mm | 117.93g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English, Spanish
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 0140093818
  • 9780140093810

Rating details

3,985 ratings
3.64 out of 5 stars
5 22% (884)
4 34% (1,351)
3 33% (1,307)
2 9% (341)
1 3% (102)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X