Crier's War

Crier's War

4.15 (17,332 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 10-13 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first book in a richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls--one human, one Made--whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

Perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski's The Winner's Curse as well as Game of Thrones and Westworld.

After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners' estates and bent the human race to their will.

Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family's death...by killing the sovereign's daughter, Lady Crier.

Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father's legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn't the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla.

Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 448 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 35mm | 509g
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • United States
  • English
  • 0062823949
  • 9780062823946
  • 5,166

Back cover copy

IMPOSSIBLE LOVE BETWEEN TWO GIRLS--ONE HUMAN, ONE MADE.

A LOVE THAT COULD BIRTH A REVOLUTION.

After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, took over the estates of their owners and bent the human race to their will.

Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the house of the sovereign, dreams of avenging the death of her family . . . by killing the sovereign's daughter, Lady Crier. Crier, who was Made to be beautiful, to be flawless. And to take over the work of her father.

Crier had been preparing to do just that--to inherit her father's rule over the land. But that was before she was betrothed to Scyre Kinok, who seems to have a thousand secrets. That was before she discovered her father isn't as benevolent as she thought. That was before she met Ayla.

Set in a richly imagined fantasy world, Nina Varela's debut novel is a sweepingly romantic tale of love, loss, and revenge that grapples with what it really means to be human.
show more

Review quote

"Rife with mystery, romantic tension, and political intrigue, Varela's debut novel is perfect for readers craving queer fantasy with dense world building."--Booklist
show more

Rating details

17,332 ratings
4.15 out of 5 stars
5 41% (7,031)
4 39% (6,826)
3 16% (2,704)
2 4% (634)
1 1% (137)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X