Crazy Loco

Crazy Loco

3.91 (147 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


A powerful collection of short stories telling the tales of a Mexican-American childhood ideal for fans of Gary Soto Welcome to Southern Texas.
Meet Loco, a dog with a passion for firecrackers. And Pedro, an altar boy forced to lean a hard lesson from two of the toughest, oldest men ever to serve the Lord. Jordan and Todd are two boys from California who don't know what they're in for when they push their Texas cousins a little too far. Loosely based on the author's own childhood as a Mexican-American boy in south Texas, this story collection is a moving whirlwind of humor and insight--brash, tender, and full of the unexpected.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 135 pages
  • 104.14 x 165.1 x 12.7mm | 90.72g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0142500569
  • 9780142500569

Review quote

"Nine slice of life stories, told from multiple points of view and in different voices, resonate with the sounds and sights of a Mexican-American childhood spent in South Texas."-Voya

"Rice...blends humor and precise detail, creating believable imperfect, complex characters that are once rowdy, subversive, and devoted to family and tradition."-Booklist
show more

About David Rice

David Rice has always lived in Texas. Born in 1964 in Weslaco, he now divides his time between Austin and the Rio Grande Valley. South Texas and his Mexican American culture are the inspiration for most of his work. The writer-in-residence for Llano Grande Center for Research and Development in Edcouch, he teaches and mentors high school students in creative writing. His previous short story collection, Give the Pig a Chance, has received much acclaim, and his stories have been included in several other anthologies for adults and teens. He has also written and directed plays, short films, and a one-man show called "Just a Kid from Edcouch."
show more

Rating details

147 ratings
3.91 out of 5 stars
5 37% (54)
4 30% (44)
3 22% (33)
2 10% (14)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X