Courting Darkness

Courting Darkness

4.05 (229 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set in the world of the best-selling His Fair Assassin series is perfect for fans of THRONE OF GLASS, RED QUEEN, and GAME OF THRONES. Told in alternating perspectives, when Sybella discovers there is another trained assassin from St. Mortain's convent deep undercover in the French court, she must use every skill in her arsenal to navigate the deadly royal politics and find her sister in arms before her time--and that of the newly crowned queen--runs out.

When Sybella accompanies the Duchess to France, she expects trouble, but she isn't expecting a deadly trap. Surrounded by enemies both known and unknown, Sybella searches for the undercover assassins from the convent of St. Mortain who were placed in the French court years ago.

Genevieve has been undercover for so many years, she no longer knows who she is or what she's supposed to be fighting for. When she discovers a hidden prisoner who may be of importance, she takes matters into her own hands.

As these two worlds collide, the fate of the Duchess, Brittany, and everything Sybella and Genevieve have come to love hangs in the balance.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 512 pages
  • 163 x 239 x 48mm | 771g
  • Boston, MA, United States
  • English
  • 0544991192
  • 9780544991194
  • 196,357

Review quote

"Sharp and breathless, full of anger and strength. May the sequel hurry."--Kirkus, starred review

"A first-purchase gem of historical fantasy for high school and public libraries that will delight fans and engage newcomers."--School Library Journal, starred review

"LaFevers' sharply drawn characters, pointed storytelling, and intricate takes on political intrigue will once again have readers turning pages.... [T]here are few writers as fine at their craft as LaFevers."--Booklist, starred review

"LaFevers's blood-soaked, machination-riddled tale captivates as its fierce, passionate, intelligent female characters examine issues of agency and empowerment, freedom, and sisterhood."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"LaFevers yet again skillfully pulls from the history of the 15th century French-Breton War to create a richly developed world of political intrigue, while casting it with deeply relatable and fully fleshed out characters."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Alternating between Sybella's and Genevieve's voices, LaFevers maintains an intense pitch of intrigue: murders, assaults, romance, betrayals, and erotic encounters follow one after another with plenty of garrotes, swords, daggers, poisoned sewing needles, and the like."--The Horn Book Magazine
show more

About Robin Lafevers

Robin LaFevers, author of the New York Times best-selling His Fair Assassin books, was raised on fairy tales and nineteenth-century poetry. It is not surprising that she grew up to be a hopeless romantic. She was lucky enough to find her one true love and is living happily ever after with him in California. www.robinlafevers.com, @RLLaFevers
show more

Rating details

229 ratings
4.05 out of 5 stars
5 43% (98)
4 33% (76)
3 16% (37)
2 3% (6)
1 5% (12)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X